Skip to main content

San Antonio Poetry Archive at Palo Alto College: Additional Resources

PAC Databases

San Antonio Poet Laureate

In 2012 San Antonio became the first city in Texas to appoint a poet laureate.

 

Dr. Carmen Tafolla (2012-2014)

Laurie Ann Guerrero (2014-2016)

Jenny Browne (2016-2018)

Octavio Quintanilla (2018-2020)

 

State Poet Laureates from San Antonio

The following Texas Poets Laureate originated from San Antonio:

 

Carol Coffee Reposa (2018)

Jenny Browne (2017)

Laurie Ann Guerrero (2016)

Carmen Tafolla (2015)

C.W. Miller - alternate (1974-1975)

Stella Woodall - alternate (1973-1974)

Aline B. Carter (1947-1949)

Online Resources

The is just a sampling of some of the valuable resources available to you via the internet. Some of these sites may have digitized images of the original texts along with extensive bibliographies.  But, when searching the internet for research purposes, be sure to pay close attention to sites with .org or .edu web addresses. If you find a valuable site not listed below, please let me know so that I can add it to the list.

For Better for Verse (University of Virginia) - An interactive learning tool that can help you understand what makes metered poetry in English tick.

The Poetry Archive - Strives to make poetry accessible, relevant and enjoyable to a wide audience. It came into being as a result of a meeting, in a recording studio, between Andrew Motion, soon after he became U.K. Poet Laureate in 1999, and the recording producer, Richard Carrington. They agreed about how enjoyable and illuminating it is to hear poets reading their work and about how regrettable it was that, even in the recent past, many important poets had not been properly recorded.

Representative Poetry Online - Includes 4,079 English poems by 618 poets from Caedmon, in the Old English period, to the work of living poets today.

Modern English Collection (University of Virginia) - This heterogeneous collection contains fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, letters, newspapers, manuscripts and illustrations from 1500 to the present, arranged for browsing by author's last name or by category of interest.

American Verse Project -  A collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.

Milton - L (University of Richmond) - Devoted to the life, literature and times of John Milton. Contains electronic versions of Milton's work and other reference material.

British Women Romantic Poets, 1789 - 1832 - Provides an online scholarly archive consisting of E-text editions of poetry by British and Irish women written (not necessarily published) between 1789 (the onset of the French Revolution) and 1832 (the passage of the Reform Act), a period traditionally known in English literary history as the Romantic period.

The William Blake Archive - Conceived as an international public resource that would provide unified access to major works of visual and literary art that are highly disparate, widely dispersed, and more and more often severely restricted as a result of their value, rarity, and extreme fragility. A growing number of contributors have given the Archive permission to include thousands of Blake's images and texts without fees.

John Keats Online Gallery (British Library) - Explores ideas and historical events using the British Library’s collections as source material. Some are based on previous exhibitions held at our galleries.

Victorian Women Writers Project - Began in 1995 at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of authors, both prolific and rare.

Walt Whitman Archive - Sets out to make Whitman's vast work, for the first time, easily and conveniently accessible to scholars, students, and general readers. Includes digitized versions of all six editions of Leaves of Grass, plus a growing collection of Whitman's manuscripts.

Modern American Poetry (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) - A "scholarly forum for the study of modern and contemporary American poetry," which includes: biographies, critical essays, and images relating to poetry.

PennSound - Provides sound files of contemporary poets reading their work. Search or browse for individual poems, or listen to entire poetry readings. You can listen to the MP3 files online or download them to listen to on your MP3 player.

Free Verse - An online journal that publishes contemporary poetry, interviews with poets, and book reviews. Hosted by North Carolina State University.

Favorite Poem Project - Dedicated to celebrating, documenting and encouraging poetry’s role in Americans’ lives. Robert Pinsky, the 39th Poet Laureate of the United States, founded the Favorite Poem Project shortly after the Library of Congress appointed him to the post in 1997. During the one-year open call for submissions, 18,000 Americans wrote to the project volunteering to share their favorite poems. This site archives videos of participants in the project reciting the poems they chose.