At the heart of Digital Theatre Plus is the ethos to share the best of British theatre with teachers and students all over the world.
We strive to offer the highest quality online experience of theatre arts, working with creatives and educators to ensure that watching and discovering the world of a play online is an exciting, relevant and authentic learning experience.
Digital Theatre Plus captures the moments before the curtain rises and after the curtain falls, providing valuable insight into the play making process. We share the hidden drama of the weeks, days, and hours before ‘lights up’ on stage. By revealing the world of the rehearsal room, dressing room, backstage and beyond, our documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form through a familiar and accessible medium.
Using our expertise and digital reach we provide a full education programme in classrooms all over the world, allowing students everywhere to become part of a worldwide theatre community and audience of the future.
We painstakingly craft our productions, interviews, documentaries and written learning resources to provide access to an art form that can often feel inaccessible. We want to break down cultural, financial and physical barriers so that students everywhere can experience the power and beauty of theatre.
~"About Us" on digitaltheatreplus.com
The link for the Digtal Theatre Plus is located below. It can also be found on the library databases page, under the “Streaming Video” topic heading or the "Search Database by Title" link (https://www.alamo.edu/pac/experience-pac/campus-life/campus-resources/library/). A blue log in screen will open. Enter your Banner number and ACES username.
Using Digital Theatre
Once you have gained access to Digital Theatre, there are several different ways to locate videos, study guides, and other resources:
1. If you are looking for a specific production, you can quickly check if it is available by performing a search in the box located on the upper right corner of the home screen.
2. A menu across the top of the screen provides several options for accessing Productions, Collections, Study Guides, Teaching Support, and Making Theatre. Please feel free to explore these menus and the information and resources they provide.
3. The Productions tab lists some (but not all) of the theatrical productions available for viewing. Clicking on the buttons to the right gives access to even more productions relevant to that section, such as Shakespeare, classics, musicals, etc.
4. The Collections tab offers videos provided by specific theatrical houses. For example, Glyndebourne and Shakespeare’s Globe. Each of the buttons takes you into a listing of videos provided by that specific production house.
5. While on the Productions and Collections pages, a menu to the right provides more specific types of productions that are available. For example, if you are in the Collections page and you enter the Broadway Digital Archive, you can click on Shakespeare to the right and you will see all of the Shakespeare productions that are provided by the Broadway Digital Archive.
6. Some of the videos also have extras. For example, in the Shakespeare videos, once you select a video, there are options for viewing specific acts within the play, key scenes, key speeches, as well as a photograph gallery.
