Resources for American History
Periodical databases help you find articles in magazines, newspapers and journals. Databases that you may find useful are:
Remember that Google is a mile wide and an inch deep. Carefully evaluate any information you get off the free web. Consider the source!
Welcome to the Library! This LibGuide is designed to help students with their American History classes, projects, and reports. If you don't find what you are looking for be sure to contact the Library in person, by phone, e-mail, IM, or use the feedback tab for your comments.
- Library of Congress
An outstanding and invaluable site for American history and general studies. Contains primary and secondary documents, exhibits, map collections, prints and photographs, sound recordings and motion pictures. The Library of Congress American Memory Historical Collections, a must-see, contains the bulk of digitalized materials, but the Exhibitions Gallery is enticing and informative as well. The Library of Congress also offers a Learning Page that provides activities, tools, ideas, and features fo
- The Library of Congress and American Memory
An outstanding resource for American history and general studies. Included are multimedia collections of photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and digitized text.
- Our Documents
Offers 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings, that chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
- PBS Online
A great source for information on a myriad of historical events and personalities. PBS's assorted and diverse web exhibits supplement their television series and generally include a summary of each episode, interviews (often with sound bites), a timeline, primary sources, a glossary, photos, maps, and links to relevant sites. PBS productions include American Experience, Frontline and People's Century.
- The Price of Freedom: Americans at War
This Smithsonian website skillfully integrates Flash video and text to examine armed conflicts involving the U.S. from the Revolutionary War to the war in Iraq. Each conflict contains a brief video clip, statistical information, and a set of artifacts. There is also a Civil War mystery, an exhibition self-guide, and a teacher's guide. The New American Roles (1899-present) section contains an introductory movie and short essay on the conflict as well as historic images and artifacts
- History Matters
Designed for high school and college teachers and students, History Matters serves as a gateway to web resources and offers other useful materials for teaching U.S. history. Created by the American Social History Project / Center for Media and Learning (Graduate Center, CUNY) and the Center for History and New Media (George Mason University).
- Academic Index History Links
"Academic Index is a scholarly academic search engine accessing only websites previously selected by librarians, teachers and educational consortia".
- Archives of Americana- Newsbank
Provides easy access to thousands of significant historical documents in one integrated, Webbased resource. Includes the largest digital collection of American historical newspapers, books, government documents and other primary source materials.
- UCLA Library Special Collections-UCLA Center for Oral History Research
Provides advice and guidance oral history.
Follow us on Facebook and Twitter