If you are searching for information on a particular subject that is not covered by our individual Library Guides, this page will help you find quality web sites.
Last Updated: Nov 30, 2012
Subject Guides (or Subject Indexes) are created by librarians or specialists in a certain field. Web pages are reviewed for content and usefulness before being added to the list. This allows you to get valuable online resources quickly and easily, without having to wade through thousands of search engine hits. And these resources have already been evaluated, so you can be assured that the information is accurate and the source is reputable.
The Internet Public Library (ipl2) is a collaborative effort of library and information science professionals from around the country. Its "Resources by Subject" page (below) is the gold standard for subject guides. We encourage the use of this site.
About.com has interesting and practical information about a huge variety of topics. Click on the "Browse Categories" or "Explore Topics" tab and select a category. Each option then offers subcategories and topical articles. This is a good source for basic information, and articles are written by experts and evaluated by site administrators before publication. However, most entries are not particularly in-depth and sources are not always provided.
- Yahoo! Directory
Yahoo's directory is browsable and searchable. The category browse is a good way to drill down to a specific subject area, and you can search the directory to get slightly more refined results than you'd get with the default Yahoo search engine.
- Search Engine Guide
This is more of a "directory of directories". Browse the categories and subcategories to get to topic-specific online indexes, directories, and specialized search engines. Use general terms in the search box for the best results, since it is searching for web sites themselves rather than the content within (for example: "dance" instead of "therapeutic dance for children")
While the Ozuna building is under construction print and media materials from our collection will not be available. Please see the librarian for assistance in locating e-books and databases, materials at other libraries, inter-library loan requests and Tex Share cards that will allow you to use other College libraries. We regret the inconvenience.