Resources for Geography Students
The newly updated Palomino Search provides you with access to the Ozuna Library’s resources via a single entry point. The tutorial listed below will look at performing a keyword search and review the unique features available within Palomino Search. You can search for books, e-books, e-vdeos, journal articles, and much more.
Click here to view the Palomino Search tutorial or here to use the Palomino Search.
Magazines and Journals are also called Periodicals or Serials.
Journal of Geography
The National Geographic Magazine
Periodical databases help you find articles in magazines, newspapers and journals. Databases that you may find useful are:
Welcome to the Library! This LibGuide is designed to help students with their Geography classes, projects, and reports. If you don't find what you are looking for be sure to contact the Library in person, by phone, e-mail, IM, or use the feedback tab for your comments.
- Library of Congress
An outstanding and invaluable site for American history and general studies. Contains primary and secondary documents, exhibits, map collections, prints and photographs, sound recordings and motion pictures. The Library of Congress American Memory Historical Collections, a must-see, contains the bulk of digitalized materials, but the Exhibitions Gallery is enticing and informative as well. The Library of Congress also offers a Learning Page that provides activities, tools, ideas, and features fo
- The Library of Congress and American Memory
An outstanding resource for American history and general studies. Included are multimedia collections of photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and digitized text.
- PBS Online
A great source for information on a myriad of historical events and personalities. PBS's assorted and diverse web exhibits supplement their television series and generally include a summary of each episode, interviews (often with sound bites), a timeline, primary sources, a glossary, photos, maps, and links to relevant sites. PBS productions include American Experience, Frontline and People's Century.
- United States Geological Survey (USGS)
The USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information
NASA's vision: To reach for new heights and reveal the unknown so that what we do and learn will benefit all humankind
- National Council of Geographic Education
The National Council for Geographic Education is a non-profit organization, chartered in 1915 to enhance the status and quality of geography teaching and learning. NCGE supports geography teaching at all levels—from kindergarten through university. Our members include both U.S. and International teachers, professors, students, businesses, and others who support geographic education.
- Arbogast: Discovering Physical Geography, 2nd Edition
Student Companion Site
This Web site gives you access to the rich tools and resources available for this text.
- Geographic Sources from the Smithsonian
Online resources from the Smithsonian Institution.
- The National Geographic Society
Inspiring people to care about the planet since 1888
- IPL2 Internet Public Library
Type Geography in the search box.
Remember that Google is a mile wide and an inch deep. Carefully evaluate any information you get off the free web. Consider the source!