Periodical Databases - Finding articles
This module will show you how to locate articles in magazines, journals and newspapers using periodical databases.
Learning Outcomes Expected
The student will:
- Understand the purpose of a Periodical Index
- Understand the difference between a journal, newspaper and magazine
- Understand the definition of peer reviewed and scholarly journal article designations
- Be able to locate the databases available from the Library homepage
- Understand the difference between databases and how to select a database
- Be able to perform basic searches within a database
- Be able to use limiter in searches for full text, peer reviewed/scholarly and date range
- Be able to interpret the entries for citation information, abstract and content
- Be able to create a list, print, save, download and e-mail articles
- Be able to access the citation tools if available
- Understand how to access the databases when off campus
Step 3 Useful Databases for S.T.E.M. students
Step 3 continued
1.. Using the icons below, select a S.T.E.M. topic of interest to you or useful for one of your assignments create and execute a search in Palomino Search or in the Databases by Topic.
2. Do the same search using whatever options are available. Options may be Peer Reviewed, Scholarly articles, date, full text only, etc.
3. Locate the information needed for a citation. Look to see if there is a citation tool available.
4. Select another database and do the same search. Compare the results with the first search.
Sample Search Terms
Click below to select a database for the search term above and for articles.
Click below to search for articles in Palomino Search.
Click below to complete the quiz for this module.