This is the "Home" page of the "Children's Literature Awards" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Children's Literature Awards  

Last Updated: Aug 30, 2017 URL: Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page


Awards for children's literature are given to writers, illustrators, or publishers. A more complete listing of awards for literature can be found on the American Library Association website.


Awards for Specific Categories

  • Schneider Family Book Award
    The Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.
  • Mildred L. Batchelder Award
    This award, established in Mildred L. Batchelder's honor in 1966, is a citation awarded to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States
  • Pura Belpré Award
    The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.
  • Coretta Scott King Book Awards
    Designed to commemorate the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace, the Coretta Scott King Book Awards annually recognize outstanding books for young adults and children by African American authors and illustrators that reflect the African American experience. Further, the Award encourages the artistic expression of the black experience via literature and the graphic arts in biographical, social, and historical treatments by African American authors and illustrators.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
BJ Schanzer

Ozuna Library Chat


Loading  Loading...