This is the "Home" page of the "Public Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Links to Archives of People, Places and Events
Last Updated: Oct 22, 2015 URL: http://pac.alamo.libguides.com/publicarchives Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

National Archives

What is the National Archives?

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.

Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching an historical topic that interests you.

World Digital Library

The World Digital Library is a project from the United Nations, the US Library of Congress, and libraries and archives from all over the world.  It makes primary material freely available online to promote intercultural understanding.  The sites is currently hosted and maintained by the US Library of Congress and there are libraries and national archives in more than 40 countries that contritute.

World Digital Library

 

Definition

 

ar·chive noun \ˈär-ˌkīv\

Definition of ARCHIVE
1
: a place in which public records or historical documents are preserved; also : the material preserved —often used in plural
2
: a repository or collection especially of information

Examples of ARCHIVE

  1. an archive of historical manuscripts
  2. The original movie was stored in a film archive.
  3. He has been reading through the archives to research his article on the town's history.

Origin of ARCHIVE

French & Latin; French, from Latin archivum, from Greek archeion government house (in plural, official documents), from archē rule, government — more at arch-
First Known Use: 1603

National Security Archive

  • National Security Archive
    "Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets."

Archive of Americana

Provides easy access to thousands of significant historical documents in one integrated, Webbased resource. Includes the largest digital collection of American historical newspapers, books, government documents and other primary source material.

 

Internet Public Library - ipl2

 

ipl2 Logo

 

Search the Internet Public Library using the search term "archives" to access a list of 500 links to archives worldwide.

 

 

Chat with PAC

 

Follow Us!

Like us or follow us on Facebook and Twitter

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip