This is the "Home" page of the "Speech Communication" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Speech Communication   Tags: communications, public speaking, speech  

This guide will provide resources for students to get started in their Speech Communications courses.
Last Updated: Feb 12, 2017 URL: http://pac.alamo.libguides.com/speechcommunication Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books and Journals at the Ozuna Library

Here is a sample of print books we have available. For more, please go to the library catalog. Of course, it's also always fun to simply browse the shelves! You never know what you may find.

How to write & give a speech : a practical guide for executives, PR people, the military, fund-raisers, politicians, educators, and anyone who has to make every word count by Joan Detz.  PN4121 .D388 2002 

The lost art of the great speech : how to write it, how to deliver it by Richard Dowis. PN4121 .D78 2000 

Real leaders don't do PowerPoint : how to sell yourself and your ideas by Christopher Witt ; with Dale Fetherling. PN4129.15 .W58 2009

 

Speech Journals can also be found in the stacks along with books.

Vital Speeches of the Day  PN6121 .V52  

 

Can't Find What You Need?

If we do not carry what you need, there are two ways of getting those resources:

TexShare is a program where you can check out books from any other library in the state of Texas. Ask at the Circulation Desk for a TexShare card. If you need help locating the closest library that does have the resource you need, ask a Reference Librarian. We are always happy to help in whatever way we can.

InterLibrary Loan brings the resources to you, right here at the Ozuna Library. All you have to do is let us know what you need and we will have it sent here for you to check out. Please keep in mind that this service can take some time. We have to find a library willing to send us the resource and wait for it to arrive. InterLibrary Loan can take one to two weeks, so give yourself plenty of time to do your research in advance of the project due date.

 

Welcome

Welcome to the guide for Speech Communications courses. This guide provides print and electronic resources to help students in Speech Communications classes get started on their coursework.

Databases

Not sure where to start? This list of databases will be useful, whether you are researching a topic or looking for a monologue for a presentation.

  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive database for scholarly research.
  • Expanded Academic ASAP
    A comprehensive database that provides information in multiple disciplines. It includes academic journals, news, and images.
  • Facts on File
    Facts on File covers current issues, world news, and controversies.
  • Issues and Controversies (Facts on File)
    This database offers a comprehensive source list of information on current issues, searchable by subject.
  • Literary Reference Center
    Provides information on authors and their works. Includes the full-text of classics.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Literature Resource Center includes biographical entries and author portraits, critical essays, reviews, overviews of frequently studied works, and thousands of full-text poems, short stories, and plays. Resources include the Scribner Writers Series and Twayne's Author Series.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    This resource covers current issues and topics with a broad variety of data and information. It is particularly helpful for pro/con essays and debates.
 

Search for Books

QuickSearch Books & Media in the Library's Catalog

By:
Search for:

Use the drop down arrow to search by title, author, subject  or keyword

You may combine terms to search by keyword, e.g.

 "Mexican American artists", "digital art", "mariachi music", "ballet and video"

 

Profile

 

Chat with PAC

 

Follow Us!

Like us or follow us on Facebook and Twitter

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip