Skip to Main Content

Archives at Ozuna Library: ACCD Chancellor's Report Collection

Finding Aid

A Guide to the Alamo Community College District Chancellor's Report Collection

 

Creator: Alamo Community College District

Identification:  PAC-002

Dates: 1989-1990

Extent: 1 box (.5 linear feet)

Repository:  Palo Alto College Archives

Preferred Citation: [Identification of item], ACCD Chancellor's Report Collection, PAC-002. Palo Alto College Archives.

Access Restrictions: none

Copyright: None.

Language: English

Biography/Historical Note: While the name Alamo Community College District (ACCD) has only been around since 1982, the origins of the umbrella organization go all the way back to 1945.

Established in 1925, the San Antonio College was established as University Junior College the auspices of the University of Texas. The following year control of the college was transferred to the San Antonio Independent School District and the name was changed to San Antonio Junior College.

With passage of state legislation authorizing the creation of junior college districts, administrators embarked on an active campaign to create the San Antonio Union Junior College District. Approved in 1945, the District assumed control of the San Antonio Junior College and St. Philip's Junior College, originally a private Episcopal Institution, in 1946. Two years later, "Junior" was dropped from the names of the colleges, and attention focused on finding a permanent facility.

The name of the college district was changed to San Antonio Community College District in 1978 and in 1982 the district was renamed the Alamo Community College District.  In 2009 trustees approved that the ACCD be referred to as Alamo Colleges to encompass all five colleges.

Scope and Content Notes: Collection is comprised of published budgets (also referred to as "Allocations" and "Appropriations") and personnel registers.

System of Arrangement: Chronological

Related Materials:

PAC-001: ACCD Budget Collection

PAC-004:  ACCD Records Collection

PAC-006:  ACCD Publications Collection

Inventory

         Box        Folder         Folder Title/Dates

         1          1          Chancellor’s Report, Board of Trustees Meeting, May 16, 1989

         1          2          Chancellor’s Report, Board of Trustees Meeting, April 17, 1990

         1          3          Chancellor’s Report, Board of Trustees Meeting, May 15, 1990 

         1          4          Chancellor’s Report, Board of Trustees Meeting, June 19, 1990