Ozuna Library News

📚 Grab a book, share a book—PAC’s Little Free Libraries are filled with stories waiting just for you!

✨ Visit any campus LFL station to swap books and help spread the joy of reading!

📚 PAC Little Free Library Donations & Locations

Materials donated to the PAC Little Free Library (LFL) are managed by the Ozuna Library.

How to Donate:
• Drop materials directly into any LFL station
• Or contact the Ozuna Library at 210-486-3555 (recommended for large donations)

Donation Guidelines:
• Items must be clean and in good condition
• Moldy or damaged materials may be evaluated and discarded
• Donations may be stored and redistributed to other PAC LFL stations as needed

For additional information, call 210-486-3555.

📖 About the PAC Little Free Library Program
The Ozuna Library supports literacy across PAC and the wider community through its Little Free Library (LFL) book exchange program.

There are 3 LFL stations on campus:
• Ozuna Library Entrance
• Bus Stop (San Marcos Building)
• Performing Arts Building Turnaround

Users are welcome to take a book or leave a book at any station.

📚 The Ozuna Library Print Collection

Featuring the Southwestern Historical Quarterly

Did you know? The Southwestern Historical Quarterly is the oldest continuously published historical journal in the United States, in print since 1897! 

This premier publication brings you research in Texas and Southwestern history, offering rich insights for scholars, students, educators, and history enthusiasts alike. Each issue features edited and annotated historical documents that help bring the past to life.

This Ozuna Library houses the print collection from 1901 to 2019—ready and waiting for you to explore.
📖 Stop by today to browse these historic volumes!

Who Benefits from the Southwestern Historical Quarterly

• Scholars & Academics – A trusted, peer-reviewed source for research and writing on Texas and Southwestern history.

• Students & Educators – Perfect for deepening historical knowledge or enhancing lesson plans with expert insights.

• Hobbyists & General Readers – Engaging articles and original documents make Texas history accessible to all.

📍 Explore the Collection

Find the Southwestern Historical Quarterly on the 2nd floor of the Ozuna Library and Learning Center.
Stop by the Reference Desk for more details or assistance!

• Full digital access to more than 100 years of adventure, science, history, and culture
• Cross-searchable access to ebooks, maps, images, and videos

• Full digital access to the Kids magazine (with a 3-month embargo)
• Kid-friendly eBooks, downloadable images, maps, and fun, educational videos

🎉 Now Streaming: Hispanic Heritage Month Videos & Highlights on Films On Demand!

Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month with a curated collection of films that honor the rich culture, history, and contributions of Hispanic and Latinx communities—now available on Films On Demand! In the Films on Demand search box type in “Hispanic culture” to access the listing of videos. 

📺 What is Films On Demand?

Films On Demand is a premier digital video platform offering a vast library of educational content, including:

• Full-length documentaries and film excerpts

• Award-winning television series

• Live performances

• Archival footage and historical newsreels

The platform features content from top producers such as:
PBS, BBC Learning, National Geographic, HBO Documentary Films, ABC News, NBC News, A&E, TED, California Newsreel, and many more.

🔓 How to Access Films On Demand

You can access Films On Demand through following quick link: https://pac.alamo.libguides.com/FOD. 

💡 Off-campus access: Simply log in using your ACES ID and Banner ID Number when prompted.

 Create Your Free Profile

Want to get the most out of Films On Demand? Create a personal profile! Just click the "Saved" icon on the right-hand side of the screen and follow the setup instructions.

With a profile, you can:

• 📁 Save videos and clips for later

• 🔄 Share content with classmates or instructors

• 🔍 Save your favorite searches

• ⚙️ Customize your viewing preferences

• ✉️ Sign up for content update alerts

🎬 Explore. Learn.
Dive into powerful stories and voices available now on Films On Demand! Accessible to Palo Alto students, staff and faculty through the Ozuna Library. Visit this resource at https://pac.alamo.libguides.com/FOD. 

📸 Think this photo is from the recent July 4th flood?

It’s not — this image is from a similar disaster that struck the Texas Hill Country in July 1987.

📰 Read the original report as it appeared in the Kerrville Daily Times, July 20, 1987 (Vol. 79 No. 93) — now available through our newest digital resource: Newspapers.com (Texas Edition)

What is Newspapers.com (Texas Edition)?

Newspapers.com is currently the largest newspaper archive online. The Texas Edition provides access to over 250 historical newspapers from across the state with newspapers dating back to 1842. This resource contains high quality digital imaging with an easy to search platform and options to print, save and share. Newspapers.com (Texas Edition) provides a unique view of the state’s history, and is a valuable resource for genealogists and students studying the culture and communities of the past. 

Who would find this resource useful?

• Students
• Historians
• Genealogists
• Researchers
• Teachers

What can you find?

• Local news articles
• Birth and marriage announcement
• Social columns and editorials
• Fashion and entertainment pages
• Sporting and lifestyle articles
• Advertisements and classifieds
• Obituaries

You can find this new resource at https://newspaperslibrary-proquest-com.pacpx.alamo.edu/. 

You can also find more great resources at the Ozuna Library Online Databases and Topical Lists website at https://pac.alamo.libguides.com/databases.

Anyone affiliated with PAC (students, faculty, and staff) can use the Ozuna Library resources. Most of our collection is academic in nature, because our mission is to support students with their coursework.  BUT we also have a growing collection of non-academic, leisure reading/listening available in print and electronic format that anyone affiliated with PAC can use.

You can use the Palomino Search box on our homepage to search for both print and electronic books and you can always ask a librarian for help, either in the library or via the Chat box to the right of the Palomino Search.

We have two main leisure eBook collections, one of which also includes e-Audiobooks:

For Black History Month we have Colonel Young’s Letters Home, a banner poster exhibit of images and narrative text documenting Colonel Young's experiences as a Buffalo Soldier.  The exhibit will be on display February 2-29, 2024.  This exhibit was made possible through the generosity of the National Park Service - Charles Young Buffalo Soldiers National Monument.  For more information, visit the Library Exhibit Guide

Join us for a Buffalo Soldiers presentation by Assistant Professor Oliver Jones on February 19, at 2:30 pm in OZU 217.  The lecture is in collaboration with the library exhibit-Colonel Young's Letters Home from the National Park Service.  Light refreshments will be provided.  Contact Cynthia Sanchez at csanchez@alamo.edu for more information.

On Feb 28, 12:00 - 1:30 pm,  we'll be hosting Palo Alto College's 2024 Black History Month book discussion.  The discussion is open to students, employees, and the community. The book discussed is Black Officer in a Buffalo Soldier Regiment : The Military Career of Charles Young by Brian Shellum.  Register here to participate in the book discussion.

 Current PAC students and employees can access the eBook via the eBook link or QR code below.