This page provides access to several library resources in the boxes below.
Palomino Search box provides access to the Palomino Search tool. You can search for e-books, e-articles, and e-videos.
How do I use Palomino Search box provides a brief tutorial on performing a search using Palomino Search.
REMINDER: Check with Ms. Herrera for any questions about the types of resources that she will accept for this project.
Use Palomino Search to search for library resources. Below are suggested search terms to aid in your search for topics covered in this class. You may also search by artist name and/or title of the painting-sculpture- artwork. These search terms may also be used when searching in the library databases.
Linked Search Terms General Search Terms
Art and society iconographic analysis AND art
Art criticism art criticism AND theory
Art—Criticism & Theory sculpture
Art and philosophy—United States
Artists—United States—Biography
Painters—United States—Biography
Painting, American—20th century
Tips for Searching
Robert Storr : Interviews on Art by 
Synagonism: Theory and Practice in Early Modern Art by
This book explores for the first time the concept of synagonism (from "σύν", "together" and "ἀγών", "struggle") for an analysis of the productive exchanges between early modern painting, sculpture, architecture, and other art forms in theory and practice. In doing so, it builds on current insights regarding the so-called paragone debate, seeing this, however, as only one, too narrow perspective on early modern artistic production. Synagonism, rather, implies a breaking up of the schematic connections between art forms and individual senses, drawing attention to the multimediality and intersensoriality of art, as well as the relationship between image and body.
A Companion to Modern and Contemporary Latin American and Latina/o Art by
In-depth scholarship on the central artists, movements, and themes of Latin American art, from the Mexican revolution to the present A Companion to Modern and Contemporary Latin American and Latinx Art consists of over 30 never-before-published essays on the crucial historical and theoretical issues that have framed our understanding of art in Latin America. This book has a uniquely inclusive focus that includes both Spanish-speaking Caribbean and contemporary Latinx art in the United States. Influential critics of the 20th century are also covered, with an emphasis on their effect on the development of artistic movements. By providing in-depth explorations of central artists and issues, alongside cross-references to illustrations in major textbooks, this volume provides an excellent complement to wider surveys of Latin American and Latinx art. Readers will engage with the latest scholarship on each of five distinct historical periods, plus broader theoretical and historical trends that continue to influence how we understand Latinx, Indigenous, and Latin American art today. The book's areas of focus include: The development of avant-garde art in the urban centers of Latin America from 1910-1945 The rise of abstraction during the Cold War and the internationalization of Latin American art from 1945-1959 The influence of the political upheavals of the 1960s on art and art theory in Latin America The rise of conceptual art as a response to dictatorship and social violence in the 1970s and 1980s The contemporary era of neoliberalism and globalization in Latin American and Latino Art, 1990-2010 With its comprehensive approach and informative structure, A Companion to Modern and Contemporary Latin American and Latinx Art is an excellent resource for advanced students in Latin American culture and art. It is also a valuable reference for aspiring scholars in the field.
French Art by
"In the second volume of his magisterial history of French art, Andre Chastel presents the pivotal age in which the Gothic style of the Middle Ages was gradually transformed into a particularly French variety of classicism. From 1420 to 1500 - in what he terms the Pre-Renaissance period - heraldry, tapestry, stained glass and panel painting reflected the tenor of social and political developments in Northern Europe, while the Italian campaigns of Charles VIII, Louis XII, and Francis I provided first-hand experience of the revolutions in art occurring on the Italian peninsula." "Deftly weaving political and cultural history, Chastel tells of French art and its context from 1430 to 1620 with all the authority and insight of a scholar imparting his life's work. With its unmatched trove of over 400 color illustrations, its erudition, wit, and appealing clarity, French Art: The Renaissance will become an essential reference for scholars and a fascinating and accessible introduction for the general reader."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Interpreting Art by
How do people make sense of works of art? And how do they write to make others see the same way? There are many guides to looking at art, histories of art history and art criticism, and accounts of various 'theories' and 'methods', but this book offers something very unlike the normal search for difference and division: it examines the general and largely unspoken norms shared by interpreters of many kinds. Ranging widely, though taking writing within the Western tradition of art history as its primary focus, Interpreting Art highlights the norms, premises, and patterns that tend to guide interpretation along the way. Why, for example, is the concept of artistic 'intention' at once so reviled and yet so hard to let go of? What does it really involve when an interpretation appeals to an artwork's 'reception'? How can 'context' be used by some to keep things under control and by others to make the interpretation of art seem limitless? And how is it that artworks only seem to grow in complexity over time? Interpreting Art reveals subtle features of art writing central to the often unnoticed interpretative practices through which we understand works of art. In doing so, the book also sheds light on possible alternatives, pointing to how writers on art might choose to operate differently in the future.
Stigmatics and Visual Culture in Late Medieval and Early Modern Italy by
This book places the discourse surrounding stigmata within the visual culture of the late medieval and early modern periods, with a particular focus on Italy and on female stigmatics. Echoing, and to a certain extent recreating, the wounds and pain inflicted on Christ during his passion, stigmata stimulated controversy. Related to this were issues that were deeply rooted in contemporary visual culture such as how stigmata were described and performed and whether, or how, it was legitimate to represent stigmata in visual art. Because of the contested nature of stigmata and because stigmata did not always manifest in the same form - sometimes invisible, sometimes visible only periodically, sometimes miraculous, and sometimes self-inflicted - they provoked complex questions and reflections relating to the nature and purpose of visual representation.
The Universal Concepts of Art by
Pocket Universal Principles of Art is a portable but still comprehensive reference for all artists, and a companion volume to Rockport Publishers' best-selling Universal Principles of Design.
World Art by
What do we mean by 'art'? As a category of objects, the concept belongs to a Western cultural tradition, originally European and now increasingly global, but how useful is it for understanding other traditions? To understand art as a universal human value, we need to look at how the concept was constructed in order to reconstruct it through an understanding of the wider world. Western art values have a pervasive influence upon non-Western cultures and upon Western attitudes to them. This innovative yet accessible new text explores the ways theories of art developed as Western knowledge of the world expanded through exploration and trade, conquest, colonisation and research into other cultures, present and past. It considers the issues arising from the historical relationships which brought diverse artistic traditions together under the influence of Western art values, looking at how art has been used by colonisers and colonised in the causes of collecting and commerce, cultural hegemony and autonomous identities.World Art questions conventional Western assumptions of art from an anthropological perspective which allows comparison between cultures. It treats art as a property of artefacts rather than a category of objects, reclaiming the idea of 'world art' from the 'art world'. This book is essential reading for all students on anthropology of art courses as well as students of museum studies and art history, based on a wide range of case studies and supported by learning features such as annotated further reading and chapter opening summaries.
Modern Arts Criticism. by 
The Lives of Painters by
A history of Western painting and its artists. Biographical and critical essays on more than 450 individual painters, covering the development of painting from the close of the Middle Ages in Italy, when Giotto revolutionized the art of painting in the great frescoes in the Arema Chapel in Padua, down through Cezanne and his revolution in painting.
Mexican Mural Art : Critical Essays on a Belligerent Aesthetic by
This volume collects the work of prominent art critics, art historians, and literary critics who study the art, lives, and times of the leading Mexican muralists José Clemente Orozco, Diego Rivera and, among other artists, David Alfaro Siqueiros. Written exclusively for this book in English or in Spanish, and with a full-length introduction (in English), the selected essays respond to a surging interest in Mexican mural art, bringing forth new interpretations and perspectives from the standpoint of the 21st century. The volume's innovative and varied critical approaches will be of interest to a wide readership, including professors and students of Mexican muralism, as well as the speculative reader, public libraries, and art galleries around the world.
The Jean-Michel Basquiat Reader by
The first comprehensive collection of the words and works of a movement-defining artist. Jean-Michel Basquiat (1960-1988) burst onto the art scene in the summer of 1980 as one of approximately one hundred artists exhibiting at the 1980 Times Square Show in New York City. By 1982, at the age of twenty-one, Basquiat had solo exhibitions in galleries in Italy, New York, and Los Angeles. Basquiat's artistic career followed the rapid trajectory of Wall Street, which boomed from 1983 to 1987. In the span of just a few years, this Black boy from Brooklyn had become one of the most famous American artists of the 1980s. The Jean-Michel Basquiat Reader is the first comprehensive sourcebook on the artist, closing gaps that have until now limited the sustained study and definitive archiving of his work and its impact. Eight years after his first exhibition, Basquiat was dead, but his popularity has only grown. Through a combination of interviews with the artist, criticism from the artist's lifetime and immediately after, previously unpublished research by the author, and a selection of the most important critical essays on the artist's work, this collection provides a full picture of the artist's views on art and culture, his working process, and the critical significance of his work both then and now.
Society of Six by
Six plein-air painters in Oakland, California, joined together in 1917 to form an association that lasted nearly fifteen years. The Society of Six--Selden Connor Gile, Maurice Logan, William H. Clapp, August F. Gay, Bernard von Eichman, and Louis Siegriest--created a color-centered modernist idiom that shocked establishment tastes but remains the most advanced painting of its era in Northern California. Nancy Boas's well-informed and sumptuously illustrated chronicle recognizes the importance of these six painters in the history of American Post-Impressionism. The Six found themselves in the position of an avant garde not because they set out to reject conventionality, but because they aspired to create their own indigenous modernism. While the artists were considered outsiders in their time, their work is now recognized as part of the vital and enduring lineage of American art. Depression hardship ended the Six's ascendancy, but their painterliness, use of color, and deep alliance with the land and the light became a beacon for postwar Northern California modern painters such as Richard Diebenkorn and Wayne Thiebaud. Combining biography and critical analysis, Nancy Boas offers a fitting tribute to the lives and exhilarating painting of the Society of Six. This title is part of UC Press's Voices Revived program, which commemorates University of California Press's mission to seek out and cultivate the brightest minds and give them voice, reach, and impact. Drawing on a backlist dating to 1893, Voices Revived makes high-quality, peer-reviewed scholarship accessible once again using print-on-demand technology. This title was originally published in 1997.Six plein-air painters in Oakland, California, joined together in 1917 to form an association that lasted nearly fifteen years. The Society of Six--Selden Connor Gile, Maurice Logan, William H. Clapp, August F. Gay, Bernard von Eichman, and Louis Siegriest
Doppelgangers, Alter Egos and Mirror Images in Western Art, 1840-2010 by
The notion of a person--or even an object--having a "double" has been explored in the visual arts for ages, and in myriad ways: portraying the body and its soul, a woman gazing at her reflection in a pool, or a man overwhelmed by his own shadow. In this edited collection focusing on nineteenth- and twentieth-century western art, scholars analyze doppelgangers, alter egos, mirror images, double portraits and other pairings, human and otherwise, appearing in a large variety of artistic media. Artists whose works are discussed at length include Richard Dadd, Salvador Dali, Egon Schiele, Frida Kahlo, the creators of Superman, and Nicola Costantino, among many others.
