Education and lifelong learning are priorities of any educational system. Moreover, the European Union has adopted a set of policies and promoted a series of programmes meant to improve the educational systems of the Member-States and enhance cooperation. Education and continuous education are a matter of personal fulfilment and achievement of economic and social goals. Education and Continuous Education contains 20 papers grouped into four chapters covering the social factors affecting edu...
Nations worldwide consider education an important tool for economic and social development, and the use of innovative strategies to prepare students for the acquisition of knowledge and skills is currently considered the most effective strategy for nurturing engaged, informed learners. In the last decade especially, European countries have promoted a series of revisions to their curricula and in the ways teachers are trained to put these into practice. Updating curriculum contents, pedagogical facilities (for example, computers in schools), and teaching and learning strategies should be seen as a routine task, since social and pedagogical needs change over time. Nevertheless, educational institutions and actors (educational departments, schools, teachers, and even students) normally tend to be committed to traditional practices. As a result of this resistance to change within educational systems, implementing educational innovation is a big challenge. The authors of the present volume have been involved with curriculum development since 2003. This work is an opportunity to present the results of more than a decade of research into experimental, inventive approaches to science education. Most chapters concern innovative strategies for the teaching and learning of new contents, as well as methods for learning to teach them at the pre-university school level. The research is focused on understanding the pedagogical issues around the process of innovation, and the findings are grounded in analyses of the limits and possibilities of teachers' and students' practices in schools.
Multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines, books, reports, and conference proceedings. Excellent STEM field coverage, but also many humanities and social work titles.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Contains audio excerpts read by professional narrators. Searches can be filtered by grade level, curricular area, genre, etc. Has the capability of building reading lists for students. Many features will appeal to students, such as: Readers' Advisory, Homework Help, and Books for Fun.
Intended for teachers and faculty TeachingBooks provides access to background information on books and authors, as well as suggestions for lesson plans and activities.
Database of tutorials, practice tests, and eBooks to help learners improve the skills required for academic and career success. Users must create a personal account to access books, articles, and test prep materials. This also allows their test results, résumé, etc. to be safely stored.
Learning Express Library features nearly 1,000 online tutorials, practice tests and eBooks to help learners of all ages. It offers job search and workplace skills improvement; skill building in reading, writing, math, and basic science; career certification and licensure exam prep; college and grad school entrance prep; and GED test prep.