This is the "Home" page of the "GED" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GED  

This guide contains resources to help you prepare to pass your GED exam.
Last Updated: Jan 13, 2017 URL: http://pac.alamo.libguides.com/GED Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this guide

This guide brings together library and web resources that will be useful as you prepare to take your GED exam.

     

    GED Prep Database

    The High School Equivalency Center from Learning Express is a database that offers practice material for GED, GED en español, HiSET, and TASC.  You will need to create a free account to access and save the material and your practice scores.

     

    Some Books from our collection

    Cover Art
    McGraw-Hill Education Preparation for the GED® Test - McGraw-Hill Education Staff; Cynthia Johnson
    Call Number: LB3060.33.G45 P74 2014
    ISBN: 9780071824972
    Publication Date: 2014-06-24
    Preparation for the GED Test -- America's favorite guide to the exam. This book will walk you step-by-step through all four test subject areas -- Reasoning Through Language Arts, Mathematical Reasoning, Science, and Social Studies. Take full-length practice tests modeled closely on the real exam Pinpoint your strengths and weaknesses with pretests to help you focus your study Get ready for each test section with instruction, quizzes, and practice exercises on every test topic Check your readiness for the real exam with posttests in all test subject areas Get prepared for the challenges unique to the computer-based test format

    Cover Art
    Kaplan GED® Test 2016 Strategies, Practice, and Review with 2 Practice Tests - Caren Van Slyke
    Call Number: LB3060.33.G45 K37 2016
    ISBN: 9781625233066
    Publication Date: 2015-12-01
    Strategies, practice, and review for all sections of the GED Tests. Kaplan's GED Test 2016 Strategies, Practice, and Review is a self-study program for the GED and includes: 1,000+ practice questions with detailed explanations, a full-length practice test, diagnostic pretest to help you set up a personalized study plan, and expert strategies for tackling the exam.

    GED Classes

    Palo Alto College offers classes to prepare for the GED.  For more information check out the program's website, contact Lydia Hannawi, Program Manager via email lhannawi@alamo.edu or via phone at 210-486-3410.You can also visit their office in the Ozuna Building Room 136.

     

    INRW Learning Center

    The INRW Learning Center serves developmental English and ESL students (particularly students enrolled in INRW 0420 and 0305) by offering a place where they can complete classwork, receive one-on-one tutoring, and participate in workshops. The learning center has 26 computers on which students can complete their online INRW coursework.

    Location:
    Nueces Hall (NH) 114

    Phone:
    210-486-3262

    Fall 2016 Hours of Operation


    Monday—Thursday: 8 a.m.–5 p.m.

    Friday: 8 a.m. - 3 p.m.

     

    Ozuna Library at Palo Alto College

    The Ozuna library provides access to thousands of print and electronic books, articles, and movies.  There are computers to search and access these resources, space to study and work on projects, and professional librarians to answer your questions and help you with your research.

    Location:  Ozuna Building, 2nd floor

    Phone:

    Circulation Desk: 210-486-3555

    Reference Desk: 210-486-3557

    Administration: 210-486-3901

    Fall 2016 Hours: 

    Mon.—Thurs: 8 a.m.–9 p.m.

    Fri 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.    

    Sat        Closed

    Sun 1 p.m. - 9 p.m. 

       

      Tutoring Services

      In addition to the INRW Learning Center there are other tutoring services on campus:

      Math Learning Center

      The Math Learning Center provides tutoring to students in all levels of Math.

      Location:Gutierrez Learning Labs (GLL) 106

      Phone: 210-486-3273

      Hours of Operation:

      Monday/Thursday: 8:00 am - 7 pm

      Tuesday/Wednesday: 8:00 am - 8:00 pm

      Friday: 8:00 am - 3:00 pm

      Saturday & Sunday: Closed

      Science Learning Centers

      The Science Learning Center provides multiple types of instructional and tutoring assistance as well as additional resources and materials to help students obtain a successful educational experience while at PAC


      Frio Hall 111

      Monday—Thursday: 8 a.m.–6 p.m.

      Friday: 8 am - 3 pm

      Brazos Hall 126

      Monday—Thursday: 8 a.m.- 4 pm 

      Friday: closed 

       

      PAC Writing Assistance Center

      Location:
      Gutierrez Learning Labs (GLL) 102 and 104

      Phone:
      210-486-3257

      Monday—Thursday: 8 a.m–6 p.m.
      Friday:  8 am - 3 pm

      The tutors are available for walk-ins, but we get very busy!  Making an appointment ensures that we will be able to devote your session time to you and your assignment!

      Subject Guide

      Profile Image
      Tosca Gonsalves
      Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
      Contact Info
      Send Email
       

      Chat with PAC

       

      Follow Us!

      Follow us on Facebook and Twitter

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip