The following list of major trade publications for communications will tell you if the Ozuna library has the title in print, which databases to use to access/search for content, and to what extent publication content is available on its website. Some of the databases are from different library vendors and so if one unexpectedly does not work, try another. In some cases one database may provide access to the latest issue quicker than another (indicated on the list). Indexed means that the content information (citation and abstract) is available, but not the full text. If full text is available in pdf format, it will look exactly as the print copy and will have all the pictures. Other full text content may have pictures at times, but not always. Flipster will be the full e-version with ads and all, and can be downloaded to keep.
Adgully – Covers news in the business of media, marketing, advertising, and PR. Full text available in Gale OneFile Communications and Mass Media. Since these are not pdf, there will be no pictures available. The website has many articles, and at least some of them are the same as the print publication. So you can use the databases as an index and (if you suspect there are important illustrations) see if the article is available on the website.
AdAge (formerly Advertising Age) – Covers news and information about the advertising and marketing industry in the U.S. Available in print at the Ozuna Library (HF5801 .A276). Full text available in General One File, and Business Source Complete. Since these are not pdf, there will be no pictures available. Since pictures are important in articles on advertising, you may want to either see if the article is available on the website or come to the library to look at the print edition.
Adweek – Covers advertising, marketing and public relations business and industries. Full text available in Gale General One File, and Business Source Complete (pdf).
American Journalism Review – Professional publication covering print and broadcast journalism. No longer published as magazine in print or online. There are still new articles being posted on the website, where you can also find past articles.
American Songwriter – Full digital magazine available on website.
Billboard – Covers music, video and digital entertainment industries. Available as full color online magazine through Flipster. Full text available in Gale General One File, Academic Search Complete, and Business Source Complete. The latter two databases have pdf available. The website provides some content of the magazine, but the articles itself are only available to subscribers.
Boxoffice – Covers the movie theater industry and a little bit of the film industry. It absorbed Film Journal International at the end of 2018. Full text available on website.
Broadcasting and Cable – Covers the broadcasting industry. Full text available in Business Source Complete (pdf available immediately). Website has articles, but some only for subscribers.
Columbia Journalism Review – Covers journalism and mass communications. Available in Flipster. Full text available on website.
Digital Photographer - Covers photography for amateurs and professionals. Available as full color online magazine through Flipster.
Editor & Publisher – Covers all aspects of the newspaper business. Available as full color online magazine through Flipster. Full text available in Gale General One File, Academic Search Complete, and Business Source Complete (these two EBSCO databases provide pdf format). Full text available on website.
Filmmaker: The Magazine of Independent Films – Many articles available on the website.
Film Quarterly – Full text available on website.
Hollywood Reporter – Covers entertainment news. Full text available in Gale General One File, and Business Source Complete. Full text articles also available on website.
MacWorld-digital edition – Full text available in Computer Source.
Marketing News – Published by the American Marketing Association. Full text available in Business Source Complete and on website.
Movie Maker Magazine – Articles available on website.
O'Dwyers – Covers the PR industry. Not in any of our databases. Articles and complete issues (pdf) available on website.
PC World – Full text available in Academic Search Complete.
PR Week – Available in print at the Ozuna Library (HD59. P79) . Covers the PR industry. Full text available in Business Source Complete. Not all articles on website.
Public Relations Strategies and Tactics – Published by the Public Relations Society of America. Full text available in Business Source Complete.
Publisher’s Weekly - Covers every aspect of creating, producing, marketing and selling the written word in book, audio, video and electronic formats. Full text available in Academic Search Complete, and Business Source Complete among other databases. Also articles available on website.
The Quill – Magazine by the Society of Professional Journalists. Full text available in Humanities Full Text. Full text available on website.
Radio and Production Magazine - Covers all aspects of radio production. Complete issues available on Website.
Shoot – Covers film and content production for advertising. Full text available in Business Source Complete. Many articles on website, but not necessarily same as in magazine.
Shutterbug - Photography magazine. Has ceased publication. Still publishes articles on website.
TV Technology - Covers broadcasting. Full text available (PDF with pictures) in Science and Technology Databases (ProQuest) Most recent issue June 2020, possibly due to COVID.
Variety – Covers all aspects of the entertainment industry. Full text available in Masterfile Complete.
Vibe – Entertainment online "magazine" owned by BillBoard. See Website
Website Magazine – Available on website.
Wired – Internet and Technology Magazine. Available as full color online magazine through Flipster. Full text available in General One File. Some articles on website.
Wireless News – Newsletter covering wireless industry, including innovations in technology and business aspects. Full text available in General One File.
The Writer – Covers all aspects of writing for all writers, editors, and students. Indexed in Academic Search Complete. Selected articles available to non-subscribers on website.
Writer's Digest – Professional magazine for writers covering technique and sale of writing. Available as full color online magazine through Flipster. Full text available in MasterFile Complete. Many articles on website, but not necessarily same as in magazine.