Communications: Journalism

Website of magazine dedicated to coverage of news in the media - how it's covered and what issues surround that coverage. It is no longer adding new content, so some of the links under news sources and resources are not up to date.

Click on advanced to be able to search just by address

Website of the magazine, thought provoking articles, blog entries and reports, including full text from issues of the magazine itself. Also has handouts with discussion topics that go with the magazine.

Resources to teach yourself and others (including kids) to be digital and media literate

A site from the Sanford School of Public Policy that explores "new journalism, including fact-checking"

Fact checker from the Annenberg Public Policy Center

Resource page of the Global Investigative Journalism Network. Contains tips, grants, safety tips, etc. for investigative journalists

From Harvard's Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics, and Public Policy. Provides information on and access to studies, reports, and data on current affairs topics.

Follow journalists on social media and also have a very interesting newsletter about issues in journalism. Registration required.

Organization dedicated to teaching people to be critical thinkers and effective communicators.

Program to teach students to sort fact from fiction. While a number of segments of the website require registration/membership, there are some very interesting blog posts about media literacy

WNYC radio program on issues surrounding mass media, including public radio and especially focused on trust and fairness. You can listen weekly on TPR, but also via podcast on the web.

Nonpartisan "fact tank" conducts polls and research on all aspects of society.

The Original fact checker on the web, created by the Tampa Bay Times. There are several state editions, including Texas: http://www.politifact.com/texas/

The Poynter institute is the owener of the Tampa Bay Times and also a journalism school. The website covers the media, offers training, fact-checking and has a job board.

Non-profit journalism organization dedicated to investigative journalism in the public interest. In addition to stories, the site has a lot of data and tools available

Read something on FB, or in an email that is hard to believe? This is the site that will tell you whether a rumor is true and how long the story has been doing the rounds on the web.

Professional association formerly known as Sigma Delta Chi. The site contains the "journalists toolbox" and links to experts.

Switchboard is an online phonebook where you can find people by name, phone number or address

This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary

Collection of information (mostly full-text) from journals focused on all aspects of the communications field, including public relations and advertising.

General database for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, etc.

Newspaper articles from all over the world and the only database that covers the San Antonio Express

Up to date information on all sides of controversial topics