This page provides access to several library resources in the boxes below.
Palomino Search box provides access to the Palomino Search tool. You can search for e-books, e-articles, and e-videos.
How do I use Palomino Search box provides a brief tutorial on performing a search using Palomino Search.
REMINDER: Ms. Ortiz requests that the resources used be within the date range of 2020-2024. Apply the date range filter when searching for resources.
Use Palomino Search to search for library resources. Below are suggested search terms to aid in your search for topics covered in this class. These search terms may also be used when searching in the library databases.
General Search Terms
ethnic diversity AND higher education
athletics AND campus engagement
teens AND driving safety
education AND homeless youth
education AND "foster care"
infrastructure AND homelessness
Linked Subject Terms
Homeless persons Mental health services
Changing the narrative : socially just leadership education by 
Homelessness, Social Exclusion and Health by
In a globalised world, the wealthy elite and the rough sleeper negotiate the same streets, jostling for space in the doorways of shops selling luxury goods, thus the winners and losers of global capitalism meet in the same urban spaces. While the visibility of rough sleepers has become a shorthand to frame poverty and inequality, homelessness is not confined to the doorways of cities. It is experienced in a multitude of different ways: as single homeless people living in hostels, shelters and temporary supported accommodation, as those 'sofa-surfing' and living in overcrowded accommodation and as those who are termed 'statutory homeless', waiting for a house from a social housing provider. Homelessness is recognised as a multi-dimensional phenomenon. The issue of homelessness and social exclusion has received increasing attention in the wider arena of health and social care policy and practice, the issue of homelessness and health has been the focus of recent Public Health attention in Scotland. Positioned within a health inequalities framework, homelessness is understood to be 'both a consequence and a cause of poverty, social and health inequality'. Homeless people experience poorer physical and mental health than the general population and present a higher prevalence of physical, mental and substance misuse issues. The main aim of this book is to support readers wishing to understand issues of homelessness, social exclusion and health at a local level but to do so by framing these issues in a global context. It expands notions of health by drawing on disciplines outside the fields of housing and health to better comprehend the ways that stigma, identity and urban geographies shape, frame and present homelessness, especially for those who are rough sleeping.
Making All Black Lives Matter by
"A powerful -- and personal -- account of the movement and its players."--The Washington Post "This perceptive resource on radical black liberation movements in the 21st century can inform anyone wanting to better understand . . . how to make social change."--Publishers Weekly The breadth and impact of Black Lives Matter in the United States has been extraordinary. Between 2012 and 2016, thousands of people marched, rallied, held vigils, and engaged in direct actions to protest and draw attention to state and vigilante violence against Black people. What began as outrage over the 2012 murder of Trayvon Martin and the exoneration of his killer, and accelerated during the Ferguson uprising of 2014, has evolved into a resurgent Black Freedom Movement, which includes a network of more than fifty organizations working together under the rubric of the Movement for Black Lives coalition. Employing a range of creative tactics and embracing group-centered leadership models, these visionary young organizers, many of them women, and many of them queer, are not only calling for an end to police violence, but demanding racial justice, gender justice, and systemic change. In Making All Black Lives Matter, award-winning historian and longtime activist Barbara Ransby outlines the scope and genealogy of this movement, documenting its roots in Black feminist politics and situating it squarely in a Black radical tradition, one that is anticapitalist, internationalist, and focused on some of the most marginalized members of the Black community. From the perspective of a participant-observer, Ransby maps the movement, profiles many of its lesser-known leaders, measures its impact, outlines its challenges, and looks toward its future.
Mediating Morality : the Politics of Teen Pregnancy in the Post-Welfare Era by 
Gender Diversity and Non-Binary Inclusion in the Workplace by
Helping to create inclusive work environments for non-binary people, this book builds knowledge of non-binary identities and provides practical solutions to many of the basic workplace problems this group face. Working with and including non-binary people in the workplace is beneficial for both employer and employee, as it attracts and retains younger and non-binary workers by helping promote an inclusive brand, as well as satisfying equality obligations. Based on novel research of non-binary inclusion within businesses, it provides a basic overview of non-binary people, a business case for inclusion, a brief description of how non-binary people fit into current equality laws and likely future developments in the area. An ideal introduction for companies wishing to embrace all genders in the workplace.
Leading diversity in the 21st century by 
Women of color in STEM : navigating the workforce by REMINDER: You can also search for articles in the Library Databases. See Databases tab for more information.
