This page provides access to several library resources in the boxes below.
Palomino Search box provides access to the Palomino Search tool. You can search for e-books, e-articles, and e-videos.
How do I use Palomino Search box provides a brief tutorial on performing a search using Palomino Search.
Use Palomino Search to search for library resources. Below are suggested search term subject headings to aid in your search for topics covered in this class. You may also use your own search terms. These search terms may also be used when searching in the library databases.
Search Terms linked Palomino Search
Christopher Columbus
Columbus, Christopher—Correspondence
America—Discovery and exploration—Spanish
Alexander Hamilton
Hamilton, Alexander,—1757-1804
Hamilton, Alexander,—1757-1804—Political and social views
Hamilton, Alexander,—1757-1804—Influence
Andrew Jackson
Jackson, Andrew,—1767-1845—Public opinion
Jackson, Andrew,—1767-1845—Relations with Indians
Thomas Jefferson
Jefferson, Thomas,—1743-1826—Correspondence
Jefferson, Thomas,—1743-1826—Political and social views
Robert E. Lee
Lee, Robert E.—(Robert Edward),—1807-1870
Lee, Robert E.—(Robert Edward),—1807-1870—Correspondence
Lee, Robert E.—(Robert Edward),—1807-1870—Political and social views
Merriweather Lewis / Lewis and Clark Expedition
Lewis, Meriwether,—1774-1809—Travel—West (U.S.)
Clark, William,—1770-1838—Travel—West (U.S.)
Lewis and Clark Expedition—(1804-1806)
Lewis and Clark National Historic Trail
Lincoln Assassination
Lincoln, Abraham,—1809-1865—Assassination
Surratt, Mary E.—(Mary Eugenia),—1820-1865
Dolley Madison
Presidents' spouses—United States—Biography
Slavery in Antebellum South
Southern States—History—Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
Enslaved persons—Southern States—Social conditions
Slavery—Southern States—History
African Americans—Southern States—Social life and customs
Plantation life—Southern States—History
Tecumseh
Tecumseh,—Shawnee Chief,—1768-1813
Tecumseh,—Shawnee Chief,—1768-1813—Death and burial
United States—History—War of 1812
Thames, Battle of the, Ont., 1813
War of 1812
United States—History—War of 1812
United States—History—War of 1812—Political aspects
United States—History—War of 1812—Causes
George Washington
Washington, George,—1732-1799—Correspondence
Washington, George,—1732-1799—Military leadership
Presidents—United States—Biography
Select Documents Illustrating the Four Voyages of Columbus by
Translated and edited, with additional material, and introduction and notes. Enlarges on First Series 43 (1870). Continued in Second Series 70. This is a new print-on-demand hardback edition of the volume first published in 1930.
The Revolutionary Writings of Alexander Hamilton by
Alexander Hamilton, trusted military aide and secretary to General George Washington, wrote to persuade. He had the ability to clarify the complex issues of his time without oversimplifying them. From the basic core values established in his earlier writings to the more assertive vision of government in his mature work, we see how Hamilton's thought responded to the emerging nation and how the nation was shaped by his ideas. This comprehensive collection of his early writings, from the period before and during the Revolutionary War, provides a fuller understanding of the development of his thinking. Richard B. Vernier is Adjunct Professor of American History at Purdue University at Calumet. Joyce Appleby is Professor Emerita of History at UCLA.
First Men, America's Presidents Series by 
Jefferson on Jefferson by
A new and more complex portrait of Thomas Jefferson, as told by Jefferson himself. Not trusting biographers with his story and frustrated by his friends' failure to justify his role in the American Revolution, Thomas Jefferson wrote his autobiography on his own terms at the age of seventy-seven. The resulting book ends, well before his death, with his return from France at the age of forty-six. Asked for additional details concerning his life, Jefferson often claimed to have a "decayed memory." Fortunately, this shrewd politician, philosopher, architect, inventor, farmer, and scientist penned nearly eighteen thousand letters in his lifetime, saving almost every scrap he wrote. In Jefferson on Jefferson, Paul Zall returns to original manuscripts and correspondence for a new view of the statesman's life. He extends the story where Jefferson left off, weaving excerpts from other writings--notes, rough drafts, and private correspondence--with passages from the original autobiography. Jefferson reveals his grief over the death of his daughter, details his hotly contested election against John Adams (decided by the House of Representatives), expresses his thoughts on religion, and tells of life at Monticello.
Recollections and Letters of General Robert E. Lee by
General Robert E. Lee is best known as the commander of the Confederate Army during the Civil War. Lee was also a prolific writer, seemingly writing almost every day of his life. Recollections and Letters of General Robert E. Lee contains letters that General Lee wrote to family and friends with comments and background by his son, Robert. Through his letters and his son's commentary, the varying facets of Lee's character are revealed.
Original journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition. Volume 1, Parts 1 & 2
"As published in 1904."
Originally published: Original journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition, 1804-1806 / Edited, with Introduction, Notes, and Index, by Reuben Gold Thwaites. New York : Dodd, Mead & Co., 1904.
The Lincoln Assassination by
On April 22, 1865, Brevet Colonel H. L. Burnett was assigned to head the investigation into the murder of President Abraham Lincoln and the attempted murder of Secretary of State William H. Seward. Burnett orchestrated the collection of thousands of documents for the Military Commission's trial of the conspirators. This deep archive of documentary evidence--consisting of letters, depositions, eyewitness accounts, investigative reports, and other documents--provides invaluable insight into the historical, cultural, and judicial context of the investigation. Only a fraction of the information presented in these documents ever made its way into the trial, and most of it has never been readily accessible. By presenting an annotated and indexed transcription of these documents, this volume offers significant new access to information on the events surrounding the assassination and a vast new store of social and political history of the Civil War era. "With tears in my eyes I think it your duty to hang every rebel caught. I feel as bad as if was my own mother or father & will be one to volunteer to try & shoot every Southern man. May God have mercy on the man's soul that done such a deed. With much Respect for our Country, I remain Weeping" --Anonymous letter, New York, April 15, 1865 "I know Booth. He was in the habit of coming to my place to shoot. . . . He shot well, and practiced to shoot with accuracy in every possible position. . . . He was a quick shot; always silent, reticent." --Deposition of Benjamin Barker, Pistol Gallery proprietor
Dolley Madison by
First Lady of the United States and America's "Queen of Hearts," Dolley Madison fashioned an unofficial role for herself in the new administration of the United States, helping to answer the nation's need for ceremony and leaving footprints for centuries of presidential wives to follow. Assisting her husband, James Madison, she helped to promote national unity, modeling a political behavior that stressed civility and empathy. Together, their approach fueled bipartisanship in a country still assembling a political identity. About the Lives of American Women series: Selected and edited by renowned women's historian Carol Berkin, these brief biographies are designed for use in undergraduate courses. Rather than a comprehensive approach, each biography focuses instead on a particular aspect of a women's life that is emblematic of her time, or which made her a pivotal figure in the era. The emphasis is on a "good read," featuring accessible writing and compelling narratives, without sacrificing sound scholarship and academic integrity. Primary sources at the end of each biography reveal the subject's perspective in her own words. Study questions and an annotated bibliography support the student reader.
Daily Life of African American Slaves in the Antebellum South by
This book covers the full spectrum of daily life among slaves in the Antebellum South, giving readers a more complete picture of slaves' experiences in the decades before emancipation. In their daily struggles to forge lives of dignity and meaning within an inhuman system, slaves in the Antebellum South demonstrated creativity, resilience, and an insatiable desire to be free. The Daily Life of African American Slaves in the Antebellum South focuses on their struggles to create lives of meaning and dignity within a brutal and repressive system. This volume provides a comprehensive examination of the institution of slavery from the perspective of the slaves themselves. Readers can explore the family life, religious beliefs, political activities, intellectual aspirations, material possessions, and recreational pursuits of enslaved people. The book shows that enslaved people were tightly constrained by the harsh realities of the oppressive system under which they lived but that they found ways to forge lives of their own. The book synthesizes the latest and best literature on slavery and gives readers the opportunity to examine history through the lens of daily life using primary source documents created by slaves or former slaves.
The War Of 1812 by
Cover Title Page Copyright Contents List of Illustrations Preface to the First Edition Preface to the Bicentennial Edition Introduction 1. The Road to War, 1801-1812 2. The Declaration of War 3. The Baltimore Riots 4. The Campaign of 1812 5. Raising Men and Money 6. The Campaign of 1813 7. The Last Embargo 8. The British Counteroffensive 9. The Crisis of 1814 10. The Hartford Convention 11. The Treaty of Ghent Conclusion A Note on Sources Notes Index Back Cover
George Washington by
George Washington speaks for himself on behalf of liberty and the emerging American republic in this handsome book, the only one-volume compilation in print of his vast writings. While Washington is recognized as a military leader and the great symbolic figure of the early republic, many fail to appreciate the full measure of his contributions to the country. In these selections, his political ideas and judgments stand out with remarkable clarity. His writings are replete with sustained, thoughtful commentary and keen political insight. This volume includes correspondence, all of his presidential addresses, various public proclamations, his last will and testament, and the most comprehensive recompilation of the "discarded first inaugural" ever printed. W. B. Allen is Professor of Political Philosophy and Director of the Program in Public Policy and Administration at Michigan State University. Please note: This title is available as an ebook for purchase on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.
