Evidence-based practice in nursing involves providing holistic, quality care based on the most up-to-date research and knowledge rather than traditional methods, advice from colleagues, or personal beliefs.
Source: nursingworld.org
Recommended Databases
Behavioral and Mental Health OnlineThis link opens in a new windowBehavioral and Mental Health Online provides a collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. This collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works.
CINAHL UltimateThis link opens in a new windowHighly acclaimed nursing and allied health database with hundreds of full text journals, quick lessons for diseases and conditions, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and research instruments
Health and Medicine is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 1,700 full-text sources and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health care questions.
Health and Medicine Databases (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowDefaults to searching 2 databases, Medline and Toxline. MEDLINE is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings. TOXLINE:This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.
MEDLINE is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Provides access to Medicine. The database contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings. TOXLINE:This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.
Lexidrug for DentistryThis link opens in a new windowReference drug database. While intended for dentistry, health admin and nursing programs will also find it useful. Also includes dental patient education leaflets, overview articles, as well as videos of surgical procedures.
MEDLINE (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE® is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Films on Demand Collections
Films on Demand: A comprehensive, academic-focused video collections providing unlimited access to thousands of videos on a wide variety of subjects.
Academic OneFileThis link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of academic journals. Offers browsable topics and a visual search tool.
Academic Video OnlineThis link opens in a new windowCovers multiple academic disciplines including science, engineering, social sciences, history, literature, art and design, diversity, health sciences, music, and personal interest.
Alexander Street Press is a publisher of award-winning online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning. Our content is carefully curated by expert editors around specific subjects and disciplines, sourced from producers and archives around the globe.
Behavioral and Mental Health OnlineThis link opens in a new windowBehavioral and Mental Health Online provides a collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. This collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works.
Biological Science DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThis database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications
eBook Academic CollectionThis link opens in a new windowElectronic books that the Ozuna Library has access to from EBSCOhost. Formats are in PDF and/or EPUB.
Search and view the full text of eBooks.
CINAHL UltimateThis link opens in a new windowHighly acclaimed nursing and allied health database with hundreds of full text journals, quick lessons for diseases and conditions, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and research instruments
EBSCO eBooksThis link opens in a new windowEbooks covering all subjects, including books purchased by the library.
Films on DemandThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, academic-focused video collections providing unlimited access to
thousands of videos on a wide variety of subjects.
Gale EbooksThis link opens in a new windowDatabase of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, and other reference books for multidisciplinary research. Subjects included are criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, and world cultures.
Gale Interactive: ScienceThis link opens in a new windowScience comes to life as you zoom, rotate, and explore interactive 3D models.
Health and Medicine is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 1,700 full-text sources and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health care questions.
Health and Medicine Databases (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowDefaults to searching 2 databases, Medline and Toxline. MEDLINE is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings. TOXLINE:This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.
MEDLINE is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Provides access to Medicine. The database contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings. TOXLINE:This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.
Lexidrug for DentistryThis link opens in a new windowReference drug database. While intended for dentistry, health admin and nursing programs will also find it useful. Also includes dental patient education leaflets, overview articles, as well as videos of surgical procedures.
MEDLINE (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE® is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
ProQuest EbooksThis link opens in a new windowEbooks on all topics
PsychologyThis link opens in a new windowA collection of periodicals supporting all aspects of psychology.
With access to over 200 peer-reviewed journals, Gale's Psychology database allows researchers to explore what makes people "tick" from childhood to death. This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind both develops and diminishes over time.
