When searching by SUBJECT in the catalog you may use some of the following terms:
Geography Cartography Physical Geography Landscapes World Maps
Library Databases
Academic OneFileThis link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of academic journals. Offers browsable topics and a visual search tool.
Diversity StudiesThis link opens in a new windowA Source for full-text and citations of news and articles dealing with cultural differences, ethnicity and social diversity issues around the world.
Diversity Studies Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. The database is useful for social science, history and liberal arts coursework.
GeoRefThis link opens in a new windowThe GeoRef database, established by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the most comprehensive geoscience literature of the world
Handbook of TexasThis link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary encyclopedia maintained by Texas State Historical Association. Free access to topics on Texas history, geography, and culture. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative, and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture.
It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories.
Hospitality and TourismThis link opens in a new windowProvides resources on focused study of all areas of the hospitality industry, including the cultural aspects of travel and leisure activities, the economic impact of tourism and more.
With content from over 500 industry journals, this database provides coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industryincluding cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, and economic aspects of tourism.
National Geographic KidsThis link opens in a new windowExplore amazing adventures in science, nature, culture, archaeology, and space. Best for children aged 6–14
National Geographic Virtual LibraryThis link opens in a new windowBrowse and search this popular magazine in full color. Issues available: Oct 1888 - Dec 2020.
SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowCollection of several science databases with both full text articles and citations and abstracts of others.
Databases included: GeoRef (citations for geoscience articles and dissertations), Military Database (military and government, but also aeronautics, civil engineering, etc), Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (agriculture and environmental science), Biological Science Database (biology and earth science), Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database, Science database, and Technology Collection (computer science), Materials Science & Engineering Database (engineering and material science), and Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database.
A to Z World CultureThis link opens in a new windowExplores 175 country cultures, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, with 25 broad categories (Overview, Human Rights, Religion, etc.).
A to Z World Culture is the most comprehensive country-by-country culture resource database available on the educational market today. A to Z World Culture comprises 175 Country Culture Guides of 61 data categories eachin-depth coverage on a rich array of cultural topics.
