Library Guides: ENGL 1301 Espinoza Fall 2024: Find Resources

Useful Databases for Broad Topic Research

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary database of academic journals. Offers browsable topics and a visual search tool.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window Provides full-text of many USA and Latin American newspapers, including the San Antonio Express News. While this database is text only, the San Antonio Express News is available as image edition.
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, and broadcast transcripts.
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window Provides access to today's edition and back issues. User must create a personal account which then gives them access from anywhere (including at home).
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window This database can be used to explore a variety of "pro" (for) and "con" (against) viewpoints on numerous topics.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana.
Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window Provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art, or liberal arts course with a focus on popular culture.

Accessing Databases from off campus

When accessing a database (article, e-book, film) off campus, you will get a screen where you will have to fill in your ACES ID and your BANNER NUMBER to show you are a PAC student, staff or faculty member.

If you have any issues contact the Ozuna Library Reference Desk via Chat or send an email to pac-ref@alamo.edu.

Resource link gives "unsafe page" message

All our resource links are safe. In most cases you can resolve this issue by either using another browser or clearing your current browser's cache. Below are instructions on clearing the cache.

Clearing Cache

Palomino Search

Relevant Web Resources

States sue Meta, claiming Instagram, Facebook fueled youth mental health crisis Over 40 states sued Meta on Oct 24, 2023 accusing the social media giant of designing products that are deliberately addictive and fuel the youth mental health crisis.

Link from Palomino Source is not working

Problem: When clicking on the green button that is supposed to take you to the ebook, video, or article, you get to a page with an error message.

Possible solution: Click on the title of ebook, video, article (in Palomino Search) scroll to Access Online (see image on left).

In many cases the same item is available from another source/vendor. Try and see if any of the other "View full text" links work.

If that doesn't work: Click on "Report a broken link" (yellow highlight) and fill in the form. The E-resource librarian will respond to the email generated. She can almost always find you a copy of the article. And we can work on getting the broken link fixed.

E-resources not in Palomino Search

The following collections/e-resources are easily overlooked, because they are not (well) represented in Palomino Search. They can also be accessed through Search a specific database (also on our webpage under Find More Materials)

Handbook of Texas This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary encyclopedia maintained by Texas State Historical Association. Free access to topics on Texas history, geography, and culture. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative, and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture.
It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories.
Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window Database of tutorials, practice tests, and eBooks to help learners improve the skills required for academic and career success. Users must create a personal account to access books, articles, and test prep materials. This also allows their test results, résumé, etc. to be safely stored.
Learning Express Library features nearly 1,000 online tutorials, practice tests and eBooks to help learners of all ages. It offers job search and workplace skills improvement; skill building in reading, writing, math, and basic science; career certification and licensure exam prep; college and grad school entrance prep; and GED test prep.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window Provides full-text of many USA and Latin American newspapers, including the San Antonio Express News. While this database is text only, the San Antonio Express News is available as image edition.
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, and broadcast transcripts.
New York Times in Education This link opens in a new window Covers discipline-specific areas of study, general instructional strategies, and co-curricular activities to promote student achievement. Includes events, discussions, and contests. Users need to complete a short registration at https://nytimesineducation.com/register/ using their PAC email address.
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window Provides access to today's edition and back issues. User must create a personal account which then gives them access from anywhere (including at home).
San Antonio Express News Collection This link opens in a new window Offers access to three editions: text, image, and web editions. Text edition provides full text access going back to 1990. Image edition gives full color access to the complete newspaper going back to 2018. Web edition contains articles only published on the web going back to 2016.
TeachingBooks This link opens in a new window Portal to thousands of online resources you can use to explore children's and young adult books and their authors.
Intended for teachers and faculty TeachingBooks provides access to background information on books and authors, as well as suggestions for lesson plans and activities.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new window Provides historical, large-scale maps of Texas cities and towns, showing street blocks and building numbers. Coverage 1867-1970. Valuable tool for social historians and genealogists. Maps can be manipulated, magnified, and printed for off-line use.
ProQuest's Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides academic and public libraries digital access to large-scale maps of Texas towns and cities. In electronic form, Sanborn Maps take on much improved value over the microfilm versions of the same maps, allowing for greater flexibility of use and improved viewing possibilities. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections.
Texas State Library and Archives Commission Online Collections This link opens in a new window Provides access to resources documenting the shared heritage of Texas. Access to the Texas Digital Archive, online exhibits, genealogy, and many Texas-specific resources.
A to Z World Culture This link opens in a new window Explores 175 country cultures, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, with 25 broad categories (Overview, Human Rights, Religion, etc.).
A to Z World Culture is the most comprehensive country-by-country culture resource database available on the educational market today. A to Z World Culture comprises 175 Country Culture Guides of 61 data categories eachin-depth coverage on a rich array of cultural topics.