Library Guides: Philosophy: Library Resources

Top Sources

Provides contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text periodicals, primary source documents, and media files.

Academic Search Complete

An extensive, interdisciplinary database offering 8500 full-text periodicals. Coverage includes more than 100 years of full-text, full-image content.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

A comprehensive database covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Offers full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

Social Science Journals

A definitive resource, providing full-text access to nearly 600 social sciences journals, covering topics such as urban studies, family studies, and international relations. Coverage extends from 1994 to the present.

Gale's Religion & Philosophy database covers religion and the related areas of philosophy, archaeology, and anthropology from across the globe with nearly 250 full-text journals dating back to 1983.

The Philosopher’s Index with Full Text is the leading full-text database covering all major fields of philosophy and related disciplines. It provides hundreds of full-text philosophy journals from around the world.

Welcome

Welcome to the Philosophy research guide for Palo Alto College. This guide will help you find books and other materials in the library, magazine and journal articles, and useful information on the web. The "Web Resources" tab contains links to professional societies, blogs, historical information, standards, and construction links. Under "Books & Journals" you'll find a link to the library's catalog, suggested e-Books, subject-appropriate databases, and links to free online journal content.

Some Philosophy Library Books

Ethics

ISBN: 9789047411383

Publication Date: 2006-11-30

This new English edition of Arnold Geulincx' Ethics is the first complete edition to appear in a modern language and includes notes by the great Irish writer Samuel Beckett, who indicated that Geulincx was a key influence on his works.

Logic

ISBN: 9783110329155

Publication Date: 2013-05-02

Alexander Pfänder's classical phenomenological logic, a masterwork of unmatched clarity, is presented here for the first time in English. The book unfolds the general essence of logic, its object, not acts of thinking but objective "thoughts", meanings and higher unities formed by them. Being a new phenomenological exposition of traditional logic, it reduces the symbolic language used to a minimum in order to concentrate on the logical meanings and laws themselves for which these symbols are signs.

Teaching Philosophy

ISBN: 9781441100771

Publication Date: 2009-02-19

In the current academic climate, teaching is often seen as secondary to research. Teaching Philosophy seeks to bring teaching philosophy higher on the academic agenda. The book suggests ways in which the teaching of philosophy at undergraduate level might be facilitated. Some of the essays place the emphasis on individual self discovery, others focus on the wider political context, many offer practical ideas for enhancing the teaching of philosophy through exercises that engage students in often unconventional ways. This thoughtful and important book emphasizes the responsibility of the philosophy teacher towards his or her students and to society in general.

Subject Guide

Cynthia Sanchez

Email Me

Palomino Search

Helpful Search Terms

Helpful search terms:

Philosophy Education Philosophy Modern Philosophy

Ethics Evolutionary Ethics Logic

Library Streaming Video Collections

Streaming videos from Films on Demand may be accessed through the library's Palomino Search or from the Library Database page under the Streaming Video header.

Philosophy: Library Resources