Skip to Main Content

Student Development / EDUC Library Guide: Library Resources- Online

This guide is for students taking SDEV and EDUC classes at Palo Alto College. It is an orientation and introduction to Library resources and services.

How do get assistance from a librarian?

                                                 The Library is open on campus.  Research assistance is available in person as well as via chat  email ( pac-ref@alamo.edu)  or  text 210-812-2632.  You may also schedule an extended one on one virtual appointment with a librarian using the Book a Librarian service.

You may contact a librarian by phone (210)486-3557.    Messages received during non operating hours will be returned on the next business day.                                                                                   

     

     

How do I access library materials?

Palomino Search

The library's search tool is Palomino Search.   This tool provides access to e-books, e-articles, and streaming videos from one search box.  A majority of the library databases are incorporated into Palomino Search, however, you may also use a specific database to s your research.  

Databases: Articles/Streaming Videos

Library databases provide electronic access to journal/ newspaper/ magazine articles, streaming videos, and some e-books.  In addition, the library's database collection includes some specialized databases that provide geographic maps, country overviews, and vocational information.   Off campus access requires student ACES user name and Banner number for students taking PAC college courses.

Databases by Topic on the Library Homepage provides access by individual database.


Please contact the library if you experience difficulty accessing the databases:  email (pac-ref@alamlo.edu)  or  chat.

Tutorials are available below.

Library Information Literacy Modules

 

Students can improve their information searching skills by completing Library Information Literacy Modules throughout the year. Click here to access the online modules.

PAC Tutoring Services

Free online tutoring is available for all PAC students via Canvas.

PAC tutors offer tutoring services via the Brainfuse platform. 

For more information and to view tutoring times per subject, refer to  the tutoring services webpage.