Library Guides: San Antonio Poetry Archive at Palo Alto College: General Information

Archives Access

In order to properly accommodate your research needs, access is
by appointment only.

Location:

Archives Reading Room
Ozuna Library
1400 W. Villaret
San Antonio, TX 78224
Phone (210) 486-3575

Email: sschmidt33@alamo.edu

All visitors will be required to sign the PAC Archives Visitor Register and should be prepared to produce valid identification if the attending librarian requests it. The visitor's register is kept for usage and other statistical purposes and is protected under the rules of confidentiality of library users.

Trained library staff will be available to assist visitors in using finding aids (i.e. databases and indexes) to identify and locate archival materials. Visitors must follow the preservation guidelines for using materials in the Archives.

Eleven Rivers Review

ENTRIES | Artwork + Writing |Fall 2024 + Spring 2025
Submission forms for the Spring 2025 issue, Volume 10 are NOW OPEN!!

More information on Alamo Experience

Palomino Pen

Are you a student at Palo Alto College?

Come express yourself through creative writing! The Palomino Pen: Creative Writing Studio series is an opportunity for students to learn about and express themselves through creative writing and receive tips and optional feedback on how to improve their writing. From learning about effective songwriting techniques to performing a slam poem to expressing yourself through imagery, there is something in the series for everyone.

Dates:

More information available on Alamo Experience

National Poetry Month Celebration 2025

This year's Pen to Paper celebrates the opening of the San Antonio Poetry Archive, which sparked the Ozuna Library's annual National Poetry Month Celebration. Speakers include Dr. Robert Garza, President of Palo Alto College, who will introduce Laurie Ann Guerrero, alumnus and former poet laureate who initiated the Poetry Archive. We will also recognize other key stakeholders, such as our past Pen to Paper performers, donors, Poet Laureates, and the PAC faculty who led the project in 2015-2016. Please join us!

Newest Additions to the Collection

Asina Is How We Talk by Eddie Vega (Editor); Isabel Ann Castro (Cover Design by)
ISBN: 9781953447876
Publication Date: 2022-12-05
Asina is How We Talk is a fresh and tasty morsel of language activism, a defense of that nepantla of a borderland between two cultures, two languages, two nations, where even how we accent our words, which languages we speak, and whether those languages are allowed to consort with each other become a political, personal, and possibly confrontational action. An anthem of biculturalism, it fills our senses with the tastes and sounds of that cultural and linguistic mix where children of the Aztec Quinto Sol express their uniqueness and pride "...Eating pepperoni pizza/With salsa verde..." (Nicolás Valdez) and learn that "cenizas quedan/ my body should be a furnace" (ire'ne lara silva.)
Amapolasong by Jacinto Cardona; Claudia Cardona (Editor, Illustrator); Juania Sueños (Editor)
ISBN: 9798218013691
Publication Date: 2022-07-22
Jacinto Jesus Cardona's collection is a low-riding Chicano song sweeping the streets of the depths of the readers' memories, a sentimental soul ballad, a slow procession of titillating sounds recounting childhood heartache in the chicano tradition of using humor. Amapolasong conjures a fry-cook father's history and links it to Fernando Pessoa, or the neighborhood's solitario to a bookish, lonely boy; This is a collection deeply focused on sound, a true treat to the ear.
Frances of the Wider Field by Laura Van Prooyen; eileen cleary (Editor); Martha McCollough (Designed by)
ISBN: 9781734786965
Publication Date: 2021-03-15
Frances of the Wider Field is about mothers, daughters, time, mortality-the loss of memory and meaning. Van Prooyen's poems have clarity and ferocity, a wild imaginative grace that captures the joy and strangeness of our most intimate and familiar experiences. Frances appears part god, part curious child, part the small solitary voice inside. Van Prooyen asks " Is a sigh a word? Is a body a word? / Is a tongue the beginning?" She tells us "Memory cannot undo the future. Frances, if I said, /tonight I thank the seven sisters, it's really / the blue dust of God between them. Or you."