Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TLC Selected E-books from the Ozuna Library Collection
The titles below were selected by the TLC for the Ozuna Library Collection. Titles noted with an asterisk (*) were purchased with funds provided by the TLC.
The Online Teaching Survival Guide by Essential reading for online instructors, updated to cover new and emerging issues and technologies The Online Teaching Survival Guide provides a robust overview of theory-based techniques for teaching online or technology-enhanced courses. Covering all aspects of online teaching, this book reviews the latest research in cognitive processing and related learning outcomes while retaining a focus on the practical. A simple framework of instructional strategies mapped across a four-phase timeline provides a concrete starting point for both new online teachers and experienced teachers designing or revamping an online course. Essential technologies are explored in their basic and expanded forms, and traditional pedagogy serves as the foundation for tips and practices customized for online learning. The tips cover course management, social presence, community building, integration of new technologies, discussion and questioning techniques, assessment, and debriefing, along with new coverage of intensive or accelerated courses, customizing learning strategies, developing expertise, advanced course design, and assessment techniques exclusive to this new second edition. The theory and techniques of successful online teaching can be significantly different from those used face-to-face. With more and more classes being offered online, this book provides a valuable resource for taking your course to the next level. Understand the technology used in online teaching Learn specialized pedagogical tips and practices Examine new research on cognition and learning Adopt a clear framework of instructional strategies The explosion of online learning has created a demand for great online teachers. Increasingly, faculty who normally teach face-to-face are being asked to cover online courses--yet comprehensive pedagogical resources are scarce. The learning curve is huge, and faculty need a practical approach to course design and management that can be quickly and easily implemented. The Online Teaching Survival Guide provides that essential resource, with a customizable framework and deeper exploration of effective online teaching.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2016-08-29
The titles below were selected by the TLC for the Ozuna Library Collection.
Understanding by Design by What is understanding and how does it differ from knowledge? How can we determine the big ideas worth understanding? Why is understanding an important teaching goal, and how do we know when students have attained it? How can we create a rigorous and engaging curriculum that focuses on understanding and leads to improved student performance in today's high-stakes, standards-based environment? Authors Grant Wiggins and Jay McTighe answer these and many other questions in this second edition of Understanding by Design. Drawing on feedback from thousands of educators around the world who have used the UbD framework since its introduction in 1998, the authors have revised and expanded their original work to guide educators across the K-16 spectrum in the design of curriculum, assessment, and instruction. With an improved UbD Template at its core, the book explains the rationale of backward design and explores in greater depth the meaning of such key ideas as essential questions and transfer tasks. Readers will learn why the familiar coverage- and activity-based approaches to curriculum design fall short, and how a focus on the six facets of understanding can enrich student learning. With an expanded array of practical strategies, tools, and examples from all subject areas, the book demonstrates how the research-based principles of Understanding by Design apply to district frameworks as well as to individual units of curriculum. Combining provocative ideas, thoughtful analysis, and tested approaches, Understanding by Design, Expanded 2nd Edition, offers teacher-designers a clear path to the creation of curriculum that ensures better learning and a more stimulating experience for students and teachers alike.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
E-books from the Ozuna Library General Collection
Below are topical e-books from the library's general collection.
Best Practices in Online Teaching and Learning across Academic Disciplines by Online teaching and learning has surged in recent years, and faculty who normally teach in face-to-face settings are increasingly called upon to teach blended, hybrid, and fully online courses. Best Practices in Online Teaching and Learning across Academic Disciplines provides insights from experienced university teachers and scholars across multiple disciplines--including social sciences, humanities, natural sciences, mathematics, and professional programs such as nursing, education, and business administration--who share innovative practices, pedagogies, and instructional design techniques. This work highlights and features effective, practical, innovative, and engaging best-practices and approaches in online teaching and instructional design that can assist university faculty members and teachers, course designers and developers, and administrators invested and involved in online education. Using a common theme and structure, each chapter is co-authored by faculty members possessing a wealth of experience and credentialing in online teaching and instructional design in the relevant discipline or sub-discipline. Chapters include best-practices, approaches, and techniques within the discipline as well as relevant, innovative, and specific tools and strategies that improve student engagement and outcomes. The book will appeal to faculty members and administrators in higher education teaching or designing online courses or entire online curricula, as well as instructional design staff working with and training faculty. Readers will be especially interested to discover lessons about how contributors have successfully taught and designed courses in disciplines not typically associated with online learning, such as mathematics, composition/writing, drawing, "hard" sciences, and speech, among others. Distributed for George Mason University Press
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2017-10-17
Catalyst in Action by Published in association with In 2017, Bret Eynon and Laura M. Gambino released High-Impact ePortfolio Practice, which drew broad acclaim from faculty and educational leaders. "An instant classic," wrote one reviewer. "The book I've been waiting for!" exclaimed another. With compelling evidence of the impact of ePortfolio "done well," and a practical framework for educators to follow, this research study quickly led to the formal recognition of ePortfolio as a validated High Impact Practice. Now, with Catalyst in Action: Case Studies of High-Impact ePortfolio Practice, Eynon and Gambino have taken the next step. The book offers 20 powerful case studies, drawn from campuses ranging from Bronx Community College to Yale University, from the University of South Carolina, to Dublin University and Arizona State. In High Impact ePortfolio Practice, Eynon and Gambino outlined the Catalyst Framework, spotlighting the strategies needed to launch, build and sustain a "high-impact" ePortfolio practice. Linking integrative social pedagogy to technology, assessment and professional development, the Catalyst Framework offers guiding principles and classroom-based ePortfolio practices that improve student success, deepen the student learning experience, and catalyze learning-centered institutional change. In Catalyst in Action, teams of faculty and college leaders detail their experiences exploring and testing the Framework on their campuses. Working with diverse groups of students in a broad range of disciplines and settings, the case study authors put Eynon and Gambino's integrative strategies into practice. Catalyst in Actionshares their findings and their insights. As higher education enters a challenging new era, it must find new ways adapt and change, to support and demonstrate student growth and development. Catalyst in Actionis a powerful combination of intensive research and practical experiencing. Offering exciting new evidence and fresh new insights, Catalyst in Actionwill be an invaluable resource for those who wish to build student success, advance higher learning, and meet the demands of the 21st century.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2018-10-18
The Future of Innovation and Technology in Education by This book focuses on approaches to teaching and learning that integrate emerging technologies to enhance the quality of education. It brings together conceptual and empirical insights to elaborate on the design of effective programs, educational policies and educational administration requirements. The chapters cover topics such as social media's use in learning, virtual learning, innovative pedagogy, data mining, massive open online courses (MOOCs) and sustainable education. Special emphasis is placed on virtual and augmented reality (VR/AR), and the use of electronic devices such as tablets and smartphones in the classroom. The authors explore how advances in information and communication technology (ICT) can improve opportunities through education for all. It presents an international perspective, with authors from Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and North and South America.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2018-11-30
E-articles from the Ozuna Library Database Collection
Searching the Ozuna Library Collection
To access the library collection, click on the Palomino Search tool below.
To access the library databases, click on the link below.