Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TLC Selected E-books from the Ozuna Library Collection coming soon.
The titles below were selected by the TLC for the Ozuna Library Collection. Titles noted with an asterisk (*) were purchased with funds provided by the TLC.
E-books from the Ozuna Library General Collection
Below are topical e-books from the library's general collection.
Outcomes-Based Program Review by Second Edition This book introduces the reader to the principles of assessment of student learning outcomes in the context of program review, and illustrates how to implement a sustainable outcomes-based assessment program review process based on over 30 case studies of exemplary practice across a range of institutional types. Since publication of the first edition just over a decade ago, the landscape of higher education has been transformed. With the emergence of competency-based education, the questioning of the value of a post-secondary degree, the explosion of neuroscientific research, the emphasis on metacognition, as well as demographic changes in who is going to college and why, new questions are being asked and new methods of collecting data have multiplied. This new edition retains the goals of the first--which is to inform institutional self-reflection of how well the organization is achieving its intended purpose--in a manner that is reflective, adaptive, and collaborative, but which recognizes today's changed environment. Among the new topics Marilee J. Bresciani Ludvik introduces in this edition is how to appropriately connect outcomes-based program review (OBPR) to performance indicators and predictive analytics and develop meaningful new performance metrics to inform our understanding of the student experience. She also addresses the intersection of OBPR with competency-based assessment, introduces the reader to new concepts and terminology, and demonstrates the implications of neuroscientific research for learning and development and how that influences OBPR design. All the cases, a signature feature of the first edition to illustrate best practice, have been replaced for this edition. Bresciani Ludvik postulates the importance of developing institutions as learning organizations where OBPR is designed collaboratively between student services, academic services, business services professionals, and faculty. Each chapter concludes with key learning points as well as questions for organizational leadership to promote ongoing professional development as institutions implement OBPR practices that are appropriate for their specific contexts.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2018-11-30
Transparent Design in Higher Education Teaching and Leadership by This book offers a comprehensive guide to the Transparency in Learning and Teaching (TILT) framework that has convincingly demonstrated that implementation increases retention and improved outcomes for all students. Its premise is simple: to make learning processes explicit and equitably accessible for all students. Transparent instruction involves faculty/student discussion about several important aspects of academic work before students undertake that work, making explicit the purpose of the work, the knowledge that will be gained and its utility in students' lives beyond college; explaining the tasks involved, the expected criteria, and providing multiple examples of real-world work applications of the specific academic discipline. The simple change of making objective and methods explicit - that faculty recognize as consistent with their teaching goals - creates substantial benefits for students and demonstrably increases such predictors of college students' success as academic confidence, sense of belonging in college, self-awareness of skill development, and persistence. This guide presents a brief history of TILT, summarizes both past and current research on its impact on learning, and describes the three-part Transparency Framework (of purposes, tasks and criteria). The three sections of the book in turn demonstrate why and how transparent instruction works suggesting strategies for instructors who wish to adopt it; describing how educational developers and teaching centers have adopted the Framework; and concluding with examples of how several institutions have used the Framework to connect the daily work of faculty with the learning goals that departments, programs and institutions aim to demonstrate.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2019-04-18
The Analytics Revolution in Higher Education by Co-published with and In this era of "Big Data," institutions of higher education are challenged to make the most of the information they have to improve student learning outcomes, close equity gaps, keep costs down, and address the economic needs of the communities they serve at the local, regional, and national levels. This book helps readers understand and respond to this "analytics revolution," examining the evolving dynamics of the institutional research (IR) function, and the many audiences that institutional researchers need to serve. Internally, there is a growing need among senior leaders, administrators, faculty, advisors, and staff for decision analytics that help craft better resource strategies and bring greater efficiencies and return-on-investment for students and families. Externally, state legislators, the federal government, and philanthropies demand more forecasting and more evidence than ever before. These demands require new and creative responses, as they are added to previous demands, rather than replacing them, nor do they come with additional resources to produce the analysis to make data into actionable improvements. Thus the IR function must become that of teacher, ensuring that data and analyses are accurate, timely, accessible, and compelling, whether produced by an IR office or some other source. Despite formidable challenges, IR functions have begun to leverage big data and unlock the power of predictive tools and techniques, contributing to improved student outcomes.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2018-07-05
Enhancing Assessment in Higher Education by Co-published with AIR. Published in association with Assessment and accountability are now inescapable features of the landscape of higher education, and ensuring that these assessments are psychometrically sound has become a high priority for accrediting agencies and therefore also for higher education institutions. Bringing together the higher education assessment literature with the psychometric literature, this book focuses on how to practice sound assessment. This volume provides comprehensive and detailed descriptions of tools for and approaches to assessing student learning outcomes in higher education. The book is guided by the core purpose of assessment, which is to enable faculty, administrators, and student affairs professionals with the information they need to increase student learning by making changes in policies, curricula, and other programs. The book is divided into three sections: overview, assessment in higher education, and case studies. The central section looks at direct and indirect measures of student learning, and how to assure the validity, reliability, and fairness of both types. The first six chapters (the first two sections) alternate chapters written by experts in assessment in higher education and experts in psychometrics. The remaining three chapters are applications of assessment practices in three higher education institutions. Finally, the book includes a glossary of key terms in the field.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2017-10-12
E-articles from the Ozuna Library Database Collection
Below are topical e-articles from the library's database collection. Click here for the full list of databases.
Searching the Ozuna Library Collection
To access the library collection, click on the Palomino Search tool below.
To access the library databases, click on the link below.