Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TLC Selected E-books from the Ozuna Library Collection coming soon.
The titles below were selected by the TLC for the Ozuna Library Collection. Titles noted with an asterisk (*) were purchased with funds provided by the TLC.
E-books from the Ozuna Library General Collection
Below are topical e-books from the library's general collection.
The Parent Track by The Parent Track provides an in-depth understanding of parenting in academia, from diverse perspectives--gender, age, race/ethnicity, marital status, sexual orientation--and at different phases of a parent's academic career. This collection not only arrives at a comprehensive understanding of parenthood and academia; it reveals the shifting ideologies surrounding the challenges of negotiating work and family balance in this context. Earlier research on parenting has documented the ways in which women and men experience, and subsequently negotiate, their roles as parents in the context of the workplace and the home. Particular attention has been paid to the negotiation of familial and childcare responsibilities, the division of labour, the availability of family-friendly policies, social constructions of motherhood and fatherhood, power relations, and gender roles and inequality. Studies on the experience of parenthood within the context of academia, however, have lacked diversity and failed to provide qualitative accounts from scholars of all genders at varying points in their academic careers who have, or are planning to have, children. This book addresses that gap.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2017-02-24
The Resilience Workbook by What is resilience, and how can you build it? In The Resilience Workbook, Glenn Schiraldi--author of The Self-Esteem Workbook--offers invaluable insight and outlines essential skills to help you bounce back from setbacks and cultivate a growth mindset. Why do some people sail through life's storms, while others are knocked down? Resilience is the key. Resilience is the ability to recover from difficult experiences, such as death of loved one, job loss, serious illness, terrorist attacks, or even just daily stressors and challenges. Resilience is the strength of body, mind, and character that enables people to respond well to adversity. In short, resilience is the cornerstone of mental health. Combining evidence-based approaches including positive psychology, cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), mindfulness, and skills for regulating stress, The Resilience Workbook will show you how to bounce back and thrive in any difficult situation. You'll learn how to harness the power of your brain's natural neuroplasticity; manage strong, distressing emotions; and improve mood and overall well-being. You'll also discover powerful skills to help you prevent and recover from stress-related conditions like post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), anxiety, depression, anger, and substance abuse disorders. When the going gets tough, you need real, proven-effective skills to manage your stress and heal from setbacks. The comprehensive and practical exercises in this workbook will help you cultivate resilience, stay calm under pressure, and face all of life's challenges. This book has been selected as an Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies Self-Help Book Recommendation--an honor bestowed on outstanding self-help books that are consistent with cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) principles and that incorporate scientifically tested strategies for overcoming mental health difficulties. Used alone or in conjunction with therapy, our books offer powerful tools readers can use to jump-start changes in their lives.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2017-11-01
Striving for Balance by A volume in Research in Careers Series Editors: Sherry E. Sullivan, Bowling Green State University and S. Gayle Baugh, University of West Florida The Research in Careers series is designed in five volumes to provide scholars a unique forum to examine careers issues in today's changing, global workplace. What makes this series unique is that the volumes are connected by the use of Mainiero and Sullivan's (2006) Kaleidoscope Career Model (KCM) as the organizing framework and the theme underlying the volumes. In this volume, Striving for Balance, we consider how individuals seek a healthy alignment between work and nonwork. In addition to building upon the established literature on work/family conflict, the chapters in this volume also examine the reciprocal positive influences between work and nonwork, considering such issues as balancing work with commitments to others, including spouse/partner, children, elderly relatives, friends, and the community. Chapters 1 and 2 of this volume focus on macro issues surrounding work/nonwork balance, specifically studying the effectiveness of organizational policies. In Chapter 1, Westring, Kossek, Pichler and Ryan explore if there is a gap between an organization's adoption of work/nonwork policies and its offering of a supportive environment for the employees' use of such policies. In Chapter 2, Purohit, Simmers, Sullivan and Baugh draw from social exchange theory and the compensation literature to examine how employees' satisfaction with their organization's discretionary (i.e., not legally required) support initiatives influences their work related attitudes and personal well being. Chapters 3 and 4 examine balance from a micro perspective, focusing on generational differences in balance as well as how individuals' reactions to work nonwork conflicts influence career outcomes. In Chapter 3, Stawiski, Gentry and Baranik study balance using the lens of generational differences, exploring the relationship between work life balance and promotability for members of the Baby Boom generation and Gen X. In Chapter 4, Boyd, Keeney, Sinha and Ryan discuss their qualitative analysis of how 1,359 university alumni's reactions to work life conflict events shaped their career choices, including entry, participation, and attrition decisions. Their approach offers a different lens to examine work life conflict. Chapters 5 and 6 provide two perspectives on where scholars should focus their future research efforts in studying work/nonwork balance. In Chapter 5, van Emmerik, Bakker, Westman and Peeters provide a conceptual examination of the processes that affect work family conflict, family work conflict, and the overall resulting work/nonwork balance or imbalance. In Chapter 6, Bataille offers a multi dimensional definition of work family balance and develops a framework, which recognizes the dominant dimensions of workfamily balance."
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015-11-12
Good Morning, I Love You by Discover the Transformative Effects of Being Kind to Yourself "This brilliant book offers us both the science and practice of how self-kindness is the secret sauce of fulfillment, transformation, and joy." --Lorin Roche, meditation teacher and author ofThe Radiance Sutras Many of us yearn to feel a greater sense of inner calm, ease, joy, and purpose. We have tried meditation and found it too difficult. We judge ourselves for being no good at emptying our minds (as if one ever could) or compare ourselves with yogis who seem to have it all together. We live in a steady state of "not good enough." It does not have to be this way. InGood Morning, I Love You, Dr. Shauna Shapiro brings alive the brain science behind why we feel the way we do--about ourselves, each other, and the world--and explains why we get stuck in thinking that doesn't serve us. It turns out that we are hardwired to be self-critical and negative! And this negativity is constantly undermining our experience of life. "It is never too late to rewire your brain for positivity--for calm, clarity, and joy," writes Dr. Shapiro. "I know this is possible because I experienced it. Best of all, you can begin wherever you are." In short, lively chapters laced with science, wisdom, and story, Shapiro, one of the leading scientists studying the effects of mindfulness on the brain, shows us that acting with kindness and compassion toward ourselves is the key. With her roadmap to guide you, including her signature "Good Morning, I Love You" practice, in which you deliberately greet yourself each day with these simple words, you can change your brain's circuitry and steady yourself in feelings of deep calm, clarity, and joy. For good.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2020-01-28
Streaming Videos from the Ozuna Library General Collection
Image Source: PAC
Searching the Ozuna Library Collection
To access the library collection, click on the Palomino Search tool below.
To access the library databases, click on the link below.