Library Guides: Faculty Resources: Online Teaching

Online Pedagogy

Teaching Effectively During Times of Disruption (crowd sourced Google Doc)

Thoughts & Resources for Those About to Start Teaching Online Due to COVID-19, (from HASTAC: Humanities, Arts, Science, and Technology Alliance and Collaboratory)

Organizing Your Online Course (from Association of College and University Educators) -- Webinar recording and online teaching toolkit.

Handling Exams When Your Course Unexpectedly Moves Online (Indiana University Bloomington)

Finding Music Resources, (Gettysburg College) A list of digital music resources broken down by discipline.

eBook Collections

The Ozuna Library provides access to thousands of eBooks. Below are links to the the library's collection as well as open access resources.

Ozuna Library Collection

Ebook Academic Collection

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window Database of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, and other reference books for multidisciplinary research. Subjects included are criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, and world cultures.

Open Access Resources

ProQuest Ebooks This link opens in a new window Ebooks on all topics

Project Muse Open Access Books This collection is best searched through Palomino Search. If using the page linked here, be sure to use search bar on the left. Search bar on top gives books and articles, and not all are open access. Also, books are given by chapter.
JSTOR Open Access Ebooks Also available through Palomino Search. Books presented and downloadable by chapter
Directory of Open Access Books This collection is also embedded in Palomino Search. While there is overlap with the Ebook Academic Collection, DOAB has the advantage that it immediately gives access to the whole book by PDF

Subscriptions

Some of our databases offer convenient options to subscribe to access newspapers, magazines , etc.. You can conveniently create your user account and then seamlessly access subscriptions on the go:

San Antonio Express News Collection This link opens in a new window Offers access to three editions: text, image, and web editions. Text edition provides full text access going back to 1990. Image edition gives full color access to the complete newspaper going back to 2018. Web edition contains articles only published on the web going back to 2016.
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window Provides access to today's edition and back issues. User must create a personal account which then gives them access from anywhere (including at home).
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Full text articles from the Wall Street Journal covering 1984 to present
Flipster This link opens in a new window Does not require creation of an account.

Teaching and Learning Center Professional Development

The Teaching & Learning Center (TLC) provides Palo Alto College faculty and staff a centrally located, one-stop location for support and resources.

Click below to access the library guide to professional development resources.

TLC- Professional Development E-book Collection at the Ozuna Library

Working with ZOOM

The Alamo Colleges District secured ZOOM as a tool to assist with online meeting and teaching. Here are some handy links to assist: