A Guide to the ACD Publications Collection
Creator: Alamo Colleges District
Dates: 1987-2017, n.d.
Extent: 2 boxes
Repository: Palo Alto College Archives
Preferred Citation: [Identification of item], ACD Publications Collection, PAC-006. Palo Alto College Archives.
Access Restrictions: None.
Biography/Historical Note: While the name Alamo Colleges District (ACD) has only been around since 2009, the origins of the umbrella organization go all the way back to 1945.
Established in 1925, the San Antonio College was established as University Junior College under the auspices of the University of Texas. The following year control of the college was transferred to the San Antonio Independent School District and the name was changed to San Antonio Junior College.
With passage of state legislation authorizing the creation of junior college districts, administrators embarked on an active campaign to create the San Antonio Union Junior College District. Approved in 1945, the District assumed control of the San Antonio Junior College and St. Philip's Junior College, originally a private Episcopal Institution, in 1946. Two years later, "Junior" was dropped from the names of the colleges, and attention focused on finding a permanent facility.
The name of the college district was changed to San Antonio Community College District in 1978 and in 1982 the district was renamed the Alamo Community College District. In 2009 trustees approved that the district be referred to as Alamo Colleges DIstrict to encompass all five colleges.
Scope and Content Notes: Includes newsletters, directories, and other publications intended for wide distribution among ACD colleges and the public.
System of Arrangement: Arranged by type of publication, then chronologically.
PAC-001: ACD Budget Collection
PAC-004: ACD Records
Processed by Darin Spelber (December 2014) and Sara Schmidt (September - October 2015)
Finding Aid edited by Sara Schmidt (October 2015, November 2021)
Box Folder Folder Title/Dates
1 1 ACCD Perspective Newsletter (Summer 1993; Fall 1993; March 1994)
1 2 ACCD Spectrum (ACCD) Newsletters (Nov-Dec 1995 - Apr/May 1999)
1 3 ACCD Spectrum Newsletters (May/June 2000 - May/June 2003)
1 4 ACCD Spectrum Newsletters (Sept 2003 – March 2005)
1 5 "On Site" Newsletter of Alamo Colleges' Facilities Operation & Construction Management Dept, May 2009
1 6 ACCD Directory, January 1989; Telephone Directory, April 1987
1 7 ACCD Directory: November 1990, November 1994
1 8 ACCD Directory: January 1996, 1996-97
1 9 ACCD Directory: 1997-98 (2)
2 1 ACCD Directory, 1998-99 (2)
2 2 ACCD Directory, 1999-2000 (2)
2 3 ACCD Directory, 2000-01 (2)
2 4 ACCD Directory, March 2002
2 5 Faculty Manual for Study Abroad, n.d.; Faculty Development Catalog, 2017-2018
2 6 Strategies of Behavioral Interviention (SOBI), 2009-2010; Ethics Handbook, 2005