Palo Alto College was approved by the Texas Legislature in March 1983, held its first classes in temporary facilities during the fall of 1985, and opened a new college campus of 11 buildings on over 100 acres in January 1987. The College was accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools by the spring semester 1987, less than 24 months after its opening in 1985.
Palo Alto College was established in order to increase postsecondary educational access in a community and area of the county previously underserved by postsecondary institutions. PAC's core curriculum courses were organized mindful of the student whose goal is to matriculate to four-year institutions.
2-21-1983:
Trustees established the college (not yet named) (San Antonio Express, 2/22/1983, page 14B); “Resolution in support of a campus in the southwest quadrant”, section III of Board of Trustee minutes, 2/21/1983.
3-21-1983:
Site selection committee for a Southwest College Campus (Board of Trustee minutes)
8-16-1983:
Site chosen and voted in Board of Trustees. Site would accommodate 2,500 students and eventually expand to 7,500 students and (San Antonio Express, 8-17-1983)
11-19-1984:
Terry DiCianna voted by Board of Trustees to be the president of Palo Alto College (Express-News, 11-22-1984, page 8-c)
8-22-1985:
Groundbreaking ceremonies of Palo Alto College (“Leaders: Palo Alto to bring new growth to South Side,” San Antonio Express-News, 8/23/1985)
9-3-1985:
Classes begin (Palo Alto College Catalog, 1985-1986, page 6)
1-10-1987:
Grand opening of San Antonio’s newest college (Advertisement, San Antonio Express, 1-9-1987, p. 3-D)
5-14-1987:
First graduation, included summer candidates who walked (“Three comprise first Palo Alto graduating class,” Express News, 5-15-1987, page F1-B)
4-24-2003:
PACfest becomes an official Fiesta event (“Ring in the new – events, that is,” San Antonio Express-News, 2J, 18 April 2003)
| Introduction | Danini, Carmina. “Rodriguez helped bring college to South Side.” San Antonio Express News 24 March 2000: 6B. NewsBank database.
|
| 1983 |
"City of San Antonio, Texas: City South Community Plan." p. 55. June, 2003. Hall, Ginger. “Trustees pick new ACCD campus site.” San Antonio Express News. 9/20/1983. |
| 1984 |
Hall, Ginger. “College named Palo Alto.” San Antonio Express News 17 August 1984: 1-A. “Architects Selected for Southern Sector Campus.” South Side Opportunities October 1983. Vol. 2, No. 9. |
| 1985 |
Hall, Ginger. “South Side college role told.” San Antonio Express News 17 January 1985. 19-A. Print. For photo from archives: Dr. Terry Dicianna, 1985. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Photo Collection. Griffin, Tim. “Leaders: Palo Alto to bring new growth to South Side” San Antonio Express News 23 August 1985. 3-B. Print. Groundbreaking for New Campus, Palo Alto College, August 1985. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Photo Collection. “Palo Alto College: Come Grow With Us at Your New South Side Community College.” 1985. UTSA, Communities Organized for Public Service/Metro Alliance Records Collection. http://www.lib.utexas.edu/taro/utsa/00283/utsa-00283.html. Founding Faculty Members 1985-1986. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Photo Collection. |
| 1987 |
Feliz, Renee. “PAC receives full accreditation.” Palo Alto Mission 12 February 1988. P.1. Print. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. Michaels, Jim. “Leaders celebrate Palo Alto opening.” San Antonio Light 4 January 1987. Print. Loydean, Thomas. “Three comprise first Palo Alto graduating class.” San Antonio Express News 15 May 1987. 1-B. Print. First Three Graduates, Palo Alto College, May 1987. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Photo Collection. |
| 1989 |
“PACfest!” The Palo Alto Mission 29 April 1988. Page 12. Print. The Palo Alto Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Aviation Program Soars Over Hurdle.” Insights PAC Newsletter. August issue, 1988. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. Price, Jim. “Palo Alto president takes California job.” San Antonio Express News 9 August 1989. Print. |
| 1990 |
Hall, Ginger. “New Palo Alto chief vows to treat minorities equally.” San Antonio Express News 19 April 1990. Print. “Dr. Byron R. Skinner named new president of Palo Alto College.” Insights PAC Newsletter. May 1990. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Palo Alto College students sign Joint Admissions Agreement with Our Lady of the Lake University.” Insights PAC Newsletter. December 1990. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. |
| 1991 |
“New classroom building dedicated.” Insights PAC Newsletter. February/March 1991. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. Hall. Ginger. “Palo Alto fetes building, simulator.” San Antonio Express News 25 January 1991. 8-E. Print. Insights PAC Newsletter. Summer 1991. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Phi Theta Kappa: Honor Society taps 18” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 1, No. 13 10 April 1992. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Palo Alto College Palominos.” The Pulse 17 October 1991. Page 22. Print. Palo Alto College Archives. |
| 1992 |
Shirley, Mike. “New natatorium opens to rave reviews.” San Antonio Light 5 January 1992. Print. “City officials join ACCD at grand opening of PAC Natatorium/Gymnasium Complex.” Insights PAC Newsletter. Summer 1992. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. Ehrisman, Laura. “New magazine a ‘Journal of Ideas’: Palo Alto Review to feature diverse perspectives.” San Antonio Express News 24 July 1992. G2. Print. “Palo Alto Review showcases writing.” Insights PAC Newsletter. December 1992. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “College to open transfer center.” West Side Sun 26 November 1992. P. 1. Print. “Advisement and Transfer Center opens.” Insights PAC Newsletter. December 1992. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. |
| 1993 |
Garcia, Victor J. “ACCD board names presidents to lead SAC, Palo Alto College.” San Antonio Express News 17 February 1993. 11A. Print. Hall Carnes, Ginger. “Vela assumes Palo Alto presidency.” Insights PAC Newsletter. May 1993. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. |
| 1994 |
“Palo Alto selected for project.” Southside Sun 16 February 1994. Print. “PAC Selected for Cultures of Success Study.” ACCD Perspective Newsletter, Spring 1994. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Cultures of Success taps PAC as model” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 4, No. 7, October 7, 1994. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. ’The heart of the community’: PAC adopts slogan.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 3, No. 27, April 1, 1994. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Recycling program starts with training next week.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 4, No. 12, November 11, 1994. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Angel Tree’s final tally reached 200 children.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 4, No. 18, January 27, 1995. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. |
| 1995 |
“Palo Alto offers elementaries partnership” Southside Sun 1 February 1995. Print. “PAC launches mentorship, scholarship partnership with 2 elementary schools” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 4, No. 18, January 27, 1995. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Palo Alto College launches scholarship partnership with two elementary schools.” Insights PAC Newsletter. Winter 1995-96. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Palo Alto’s new Agribusiness programs geared to strengthen $4 billion economy in Bexar County.” Insights PAC Newsletter. Winter 1995-96. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. McCullough, Chuck. “Palo Alto gains OK for agribiz programs.” San Antonio Express News 22 July 1995. 1E. Print. Ramos, Cindy. “Palo Alto College is celebrating its 10th anniversary.” San Antonio Express News 29 August 1995. 1E. Print. Martinez, Rick. “Palo Alto celebrating decade of education.” San Antonio Express News 22 September 1995. 1B. Print. “Palo Alto kicks off 10th year with anniversary events.” Insights PAC Newsletter. Winter 1995-96.. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Oak tree grove planted to commemorate 10 years.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 5, No. 18, February 2, 1995. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. |
| 1996 |
“PacifiCare launches Frank M. Tejeda Scholarship campaign to raise funds for Palo Alto College.” Insights PAC Newsletter. Winter 1995-96.. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Campaign for Tejeda scholarship opens.” San Antonio Express News 5 April 1996. Print. “Scholarship honoring Tejeda established at PAC.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 5, No. 26, April 12, 1996. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Mariachi program announced.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 5, No. 14, December 8, 1995. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Palo Alto College to Launch Mariachi Curriculum.” ACCD Spectrum Newsletter, February 1996. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. Rios, Denice and Martinez, Rick. “Carrying on tradition: Mariachi programs in local schools provide sense of pride and musicianship.” San Antonio Express News 6 February 1996. Print. “Palo Alto boasts first national sports champion.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 6, No. 11, November 15, 1996. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Palo Alto claims first national sports championship.” Insights PAC Newsletter. Winter 1996-97. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Running: Velasquez champion.” San Antonio Express News 10 November 1996. Print. |
| 1997 |
“Classes to begin in Ozuna Center.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 7, No. 1, August 22, 1997. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Ozuna Center festivities to salute former chairman.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 7, No. 10, October 24, 1997. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. Russell, Jeanne. “Ozuna continues to push for accessible education.” San Antonio Express News 7 December 1997. 1B Print. Martinez, Dr. Ernest A. “New Treasure on San Antonio’s Southside.” La Prensa 21 December 1997. Print. |
| 1998 |
“Dr. Enrique Solis, Jr. named Palo Alto College President.” Insights PAC Newsletter. Winter 1997-98. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. Russell, Jeanne. “College president is prepared to face campus challenges.” San Antonio Express News 6 March 1998. Print. The Pulse, PAC Newsletter. Vol. 1, Issue 1. November 1998. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “First biology honor society.” Wilson County News 21 October 1998. P 14. Print. “PAC Biological Honor Society.” ACCD Spectrum Newsletter, Vol. 4 No. 5, October/November 1998. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. |
| 2000 |
“S.A. college to train international teachers.” San Antonio Express News 12 January 2000. Print. “Central American teachers join PAC for one-year training program.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 9, No. 18, January 14, 2000. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Central American Teachers Train at PAC.” ACCD Spectrum Newsletter, Vol. 6 No. 2, February 2000. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. Ruiz, Roger. “Rural Central American Teachers Study at Palo Alto.” The Pulse, PAC Newsletter. Vol. II, Issue 3, March 2000. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Scholarship awarded to 23 Palo Alto students.” La Prensa 28 May 2000. Print. Clayton, Mark. “A search for diversity.” The Christian Science Monitor 17 October 2000. P 15. Print. Flores, Matt. “Expenses paid - Hispanic-hungry Iowa college offers free education.” San Antonio Express News 31 October 2000. 6B. NewsBank database. Williams, Leslie. “Former PAC students add ‘salsa’ to northern university.” The Pulse, PAC Newsletter. Vol. III, Issue 4, April 2001. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. Padilla, Gloria. “A&M gets approval for Palo Alto center” San Antonio Express News 28 January 2000. 1B. Print. Monroe, Melissa S. “A&M-Palo Alto recruitment gaining.” San Antonio Express News 31 October 2000. 1H. Print. “A&M-Kingsville System Center opens with gala celebration.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 10, No. 4, September 15, 2000. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Palo Alto College Receives $2 Million Grant.” Southside Reporter 22 June 2000. P1. Print. “Palo Alto College receives $1.8 million grant.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 9, No. 33, July 21, 2000. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “$18 million granted to assist Hispanics” San Antonio Express News 28 June 2000. 6B. NewsBank database. |
| 2001 |
“Palo Alto College Biomedical Science accord with Texas A&M in College Station is only one of its kind.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 9, No. 33, July 21, 2000. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. Ramirez, Jorge A. “Palo Alto, SWISD, A&M—Partners In Grants to Increase Minorities in Vet Tech.” Southside Reporter 21 December 2000. Print. “Palo Alto teams up for one-of-a-kind biomedical science program with A&M.” Insights PAC Newsletter. February 2001. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. Flores, Matt. “Austin educator to lead Palo Alto.” San Antonio Express News 13 June 2001. Print. “Dr. Ana ‘Cha’ Guzman named PAC President.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 10, No. 31, June 22, 2001. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. Carnes, Ginger Hall. “Dr. Ana ‘Cha’ Guzman Named Palo Alto College President.” Southside Reporter 28 June 2001. P4. Print. Cruzan, Ana. “New PAC President: ChaChaChaChanges.” The Pulse, PAC Newsletter. Vol. IV, Issue 1, October 2001. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. Schement, Elisa. “Palo Alto College opens campus family center.” San Antonio Express News 10 October 2001. Print. “Palo Alto College Dedicated Ray Ellison Family Center.” Southside Reporter 18 October 2001. P28. Print. Johnson, Lorraine. “Ellison Family Center opens.” The Pulse, PAC Newsletter. Vol. IV, Issue 1, October 2001. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “College dedicates Ray Ellison Family Center; namesake participates with symbolic key.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 11, No. 6, October 5, 2001. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. |
| 2002 |
Flores, Matt. “Jail inmate gets degree: Palo Alto honors graduate hopes to become a pharmacist.” San Antonio Express News 19 May 2002. Print. “First college graduate in Texas State Jail receives PAC degree.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 11, No. 29, June 14, 2002. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. Martin, Deborah. “Striking up a new sound - Palo Alto offers a new conjunto course in its lineup of music classes this fall.” San Antonio Express News 7 August 2002. 1G. Print. Tapia, Lourdes. “Music programs progressing at Palo Alto.” The Pulse, PAC Newsletter. October 2002. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications. Filoteo, Naomi. “Title V Grant brings financial assistance to campus.” The Pulse, PAC Newsletter. Vol. V, Issue 2, December 2002. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications. Flores, Matt. “Palo Alto grant to aid students: $2.5 million in state funds will boost tutoring programs.” San Antonio Express News 9 October 2002. 1B. Print. “Palo Alto College Receives Largest Grant in its History.” Southside Reporter 17 October 2002. Print. |
| 2003 |
|
| 2004 |
|
| 2005 |
Conchas, Edmundo. “Palo Alto gets boost from federal agency: College receives $1.5 million to help with new technology center.” San Antonio Express News 2 March 2005. SE. Print. “Grand Opening of Applied Science, Technology Center.” Southside Reporter 21 April 2005. Print. “PAC Holds Grand Opening of Applied Science & Tech Center.” ACCD Spectrum Newsletter, Vol. 11 No. 2, April/May 2005. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “PAC, 6 school districts awarded prestigious Gateway to College grant.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 14, No. 4, December 3, 2004. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. Renteria, Melissa. “Palo Alto offers gateway to future.” Conexion 16 November 2006. Print. Conchas, Edmundo. “Bond money means Palo Alto can expand.” San Antonio Express News 30 November 2005. 1SE. NewsBank database. Johnson, Lisa. “Bond money helps campus expand.” The Pulse, PAC Newsletter. Vol. IX, Issue 2, December 2006. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications. |
| 2006 |
Conchas, Edmundo. “Palo Alto makes college vow to kids.” San Antonio Express News 16 February 2006. Print. Botello, Jewelette. “Happy 20th birthday, Palo Alto.” The Pulse, PAC Newsletter. Vol. VIII, Issue 3, March 2006. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications. |
| 2007 |
“Groundbreaking heralds Southside’s first Soccer Field funded by City Bond Issue.” On Campus, PAC, Vol. 16, No. 2, October-November 2006. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. “Soccer Field Groundbreaking Ceremony.” ACCD Spectrum Newsletter, Vol. 12, No. 5, November 2006. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications Collection. |
| 2008 |
“New Vet Tech Building.” San Antonio Express News 21 February 2008. Print. Salazar, Johanna. “Vet Tech Expands Facilities and Opportunities.” The Pulse, PAC Newsletter. Vol. X, Issue 3, March 2008. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications. “Vet Tech Building Reinforces Program.” On Site, ACCD Newsletter. May 2009. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications. Benn, Kellie. “Center assists transitioning students.” The Pulse, PAC Newsletter. Vol. XI, Issue 3, March 2009. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications. Lazo III, James. “Smooth transfer to a 4-year university possible.” The Pulse, PAC Newsletter. Vol. XII, Issue 2, December 2009. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications. College Board Advocacy & Policy C. The CollegeKeys Compact[TM]: 2011 Catalog of Effective Practices. Programs and Practices That Expand Options for Students from Low-Income Backgrounds. College Board Advocacy & Policy Center [serial online]. January 1, 2011;Available from: ERIC, Ipswich, MA. Accessed February 13, 2015. Palo Alto College: Journey to Success 2001-2012. Palo Alto College, 2012. Page 31. Print. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications. |
| 2009 |
“Curtain raiser for arts center.” San Antonio Express News 20 August 2009. 3B. Newsbank database. Palo Alto College: Journey to Success 2001-2012. Palo Alto College, 2012. Page 30. Print. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications. |
| 2010 |
Gonzales, Mark. “Scholarship gala celebrates $300,000 success.” The Pulse, PAC Newsletter. 2010. O’Bar, Valerie. “Palo Alto celebrates 25 years and success and growth.” The Pulse, PAC Newsletter. Vol. XIII, Issue 1, October 2010. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications. Palo Alto College: Journey to Success 2001-2012. Palo Alto College, 2012. Page 5. Print. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications. |
| 2011 |
“Palo Alto College’s Landscape and Horticultural Science Program Earns PLANET Accreditation Status.” Palo Alto College Press Release, May 26, 2011. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications. Covo, Angela. “TGSLC donates $25 Million to T-STEM Scholarship.” La Prensa de San Antonio 31 July 2011. Print. Palo Alto College: Journey to Success 2001-2012. Palo Alto College, 2012. Page 31. Print. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications. “Palo Alto College awarded five-year, $4.1 million STEM grant.” Palo Alto College website. October 2011.
|
| 2012 |
“Palo Alto College earns Military Friendly School® designation.” Palo Alto College website. October 2011. Aldbridge, James. “Palo Alto College hires new president.” San Antonio Business Journal 19 September 2012. Print. Lloyd, Jennifer R. “UTSA graduate Flores handed reins at Palo Alto.” San Antonio Express News 19 September 2012. B3. Print. Marr, Kim. “New president wants a more engaged campus.” The Pulse, PAC Newsletter. October 2012. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications. |
| 2013 |
Letter of acceptance approving the Alamo Colleges participation in the Sister City Celebration “Murals of Brotherhood Project. June 2, 2013. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC History Collection. “Palo Alto receives mural from Mexico.” San Antonio Express News website 8 July 2013. “Fitness Center Ribbon Cutting.” September 4, 2013. Palo Alto College website. Hiller, Jennifer. “Shale play classes offered.” San Antonio Express News 15 January 2013. C1. Print. “Botanical Gardens Grand Opening.” October 10, 2013. Palo Alto College website. |
| 2014 |
“W. Villaret Blvd. widening receives Council approval.” On Campus Newsletter April 4, 2013. Cesar, Maria Luisa. “Taste of higher education: Early college high schools touted as way to keep at-risk students on college track.” San Antonio Express News 10 August 2014. 3M. NewsBank database. “Palo Alto College provides access with launch of four Early College High School partnerships.” August 15, 2014. Palo Alto College News Release. “PAC's Center for Mexican American Studies opens.” PAC Public Relations. Palo Alto College Press Release, March 21, 2014. Palo Alto College Archives, PAC Publications. |