HIV/AIDS Care at University FFACTS Clinic
FFACTS is a University Health System outpatient HIV/AIDS clinic. We strive to improve the health and well-being of people living with HIV/AIDS in San Antonio and South Texas by continuously providing the highest quality services. In partnership with UT Health San Antonio, we offer comprehensive services including:
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative health information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Below are easy to read factsheets about AIDS/HIV prepared by MedlinePlus as a resource for the public.
PDF source citation: MedlinePlus [Internet]. Bethesda (MD): National Library of Medicine (US): HIV (last updated 2021). Available from: https://medlineplus.gov/hiv.html
The Encyclopedia of HIV and AIDS by
It is estimated that about one million people in the United States are living with AIDS, many of them undiagnosed. Around the world, the number of people living with AIDS is placed at approximately 33 million, of which around 2.5 million are children. Although educational efforts and improved access to medication have helped stem the spread of HIV and AIDS in some regions, millions of new cases are diagnosed each year. The Encyclopedia of HIV and AIDS, Third Edition provides a comprehensive reference to all aspects of HIV and AIDS—with completely updated and reorganized material to best reflect the current research and understanding. More than 130 articles explain what HIV is and how it progresses to AIDS, what treatments are available, social and political issues, AIDS organizations, and much more. Also discussed are AIDS statistics from around the world as well as cultural issues in different regions that affect transmission of the disease.
The Rights of People Who Are HIV Positive by
First and foremost, HIV disease presents a profound medical problem affecting a person's health and longevity. Yet health and health care cannot be viewed outside of the social context. Using the questions involved in living with HIV disease are Using the question-and-answer format common to all ACLU handbooks, this book makes clear how to take advantage of the laws designed to secure the rights of people who are HIV positive. The authors have divided the book into four sections. The first five chapters provide background information about HIV disease and about the public health response to the epidemic. The second five chapters deal with day-to-day issues: health care decisions, private and public insurance, available public benefits, planning in consideration of future incapacity and death, and issues of HIV within families. The third section considers discrimination against people with HIV in accessing health care, in places of public accommodation, in the workplace, and in the housing market. The book concludes with a look at HIV in schools and prisons and among immigrants and drug users.
Witches, Westerners, and HIV by
A witch's curse, an imperialist conspiracy, a racist plot--HIV/AIDS is a catastrophic health crisis with complex cultural dimensions. From small villages to the international system, explanations of where it comes from, who gets it, and who dies are tied to political agendas, religious beliefs, and the psychology of devastating grief. Frequently these explanations conflict with science and clash with prevention and treatment programs.hcraft and conspiracy theories surrounding HIV/AIDS in Africa. He shows how both types of beliefs are part of a process of blaming others for AIDS, a process that occurs around the globe but takes on local, culturally specific forms.This insightful book provides a cultural perspective essential for everyone interested in AIDS and cross-cultural health issues.
After Silence by
Early in the 1980s AIDS epidemic, six gay activists created one of the most iconic and lasting images that would come to symbolize a movement: a protest poster of a pink triangle with the words "Silence = Death." The graphic and the slogan still resonate today, often used--and misused--to brand the entire movement. Cofounder of the collective Silence = Death and member of the art collective Gran Fury, Avram Finkelstein tells the story of how his work and other protest artwork associated with the early years of the pandemic were created. In writing about art and AIDS activism, the formation of collectives, and the political process, Finkelstein reveals a different side of the traditional HIV/AIDS history, told twenty-five years later, and offers a creative toolbox for those who want to learn how to save lives through activism and making art.
Encyclopedia of AIDS by
For the first time, the world's experts in HIV-AIDS have come together to publish the Encyclopedia of AIDS. The work features over 4000 A-Z entries including medical, cultural, social, and pharmacological essays. The Pathology entries cover the various types of HIV-related illnesses, including those that are and are not AIDS-defining. . Typically, the treatment of any given form of pathology is briefly discussed in the entry that covers that illness.
HIV Pharmacotherapy by
Pharmacists now have a new resource to help expand their HIV knowledge, guide their treatment, and provide comprehensive care. This book is the first of its kind to provide pharmacists with a consolidated resource for offering care to patients with HIV infection, including diagnosis, primary care, pharmacological management of co-infections, and more. This resource will help prepare pharmacists to take a lead role in the care and treatment of patients with HIV, and will be a valuable guide for students, residents, and clinical pharmacists to build expertise in tailoring antiretroviral regimens to maximize effectiveness and adherence and reduce drug interactions and side effects.
Isolation and Stigma Sustain HIV in the South: "It's Like We're on a Deserted Island"
In the rural South, poverty, prejudice, and lack of health care are exacerbating the spread of HIV, making it the epicenter of HIV/AIDS in America. In this video, Science Magazine introduces people who are pushing back against this stigma.
HIV Vaccine : Rosetta Redesign
HIV is constantly mutating, making it impossible to destroy. With the help of a computer program, researchers are finding a way to locate HIV mutations and begin a new fight.
Below are helpful search terms to enter into Palomino Search as you seek out information on AIDS/HIV:
HIV Transmission
AIDS/HIV related opportunistic infections
Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome
Aids prevention and control
Communicable diseases
AIDS/Infections epidemiology
AIDS/HIV complications
