In the Library

Life after Suicide by Jennifer Ashton
ISBN: 9780062906045
Publication Date: 2020-09-15
From the chief medical correspondent of ABC News, an eloquent, heartbreaking, yet hopeful memoir of surviving the suicide of a loved one, examining this dangerous epidemic and offering first-hand knowledge and advice to help family and friends find peace. Jennifer Ashton, M.D., has witnessed firsthand the impact of a loved one's suicide. When her ex-husband killed himself soon after their divorce, her world--and that of her children--was shattered. Though she held a very public position with one of the world's largest media companies, she was hesitant to speak about the personal trauma that she and her family experienced following his death. Dr. Ashton recognized the importance of talking about her experience and the power of giving voice to her grief. In Life After Suicide, she opens up completely for the first time, hoping that her experience and words can inspire those faced with the unthinkable to persevere. Part memoir and part comforting guide that incorporates the latest insights from researchers and health professionals,
Sticks and Stones by Emily Bazelon
ISBN: 9780812992809
Publication Date: 2013-02-19
NATIONAL BESTSELLER Being a teenager has never been easy, but in recent years, with the rise of the Internet and social media, it has become exponentially more challenging. Bullying, once thought of as the province of queen bees and goons, has taken on new, complex, and insidious forms, as parents and educators know all too well. She also dispels persistent myths: that girls bully more than boys, that online and in-person bullying are entirely distinct, that bullying is a common cause of suicide, and that harsh criminal penalties are an effective deterrent. Above all, she believes that to deal with the problem, we must first understand it. Cutting through the noise, misinformation, and sensationalism, she takes us into schools that have succeeded in reducing bullying and examines their successful strategies. The result is a groundbreaking book that will help parents, educators, and teens themselves better understand what kids are going through today and what can be done to help them through it.
Thinking Critically by Bradley Steffens
ISBN: 9781682824474
Publication Date: 2018-08-15
Suicide is now the second-leading cause of death of people ages ten to twenty-four. Through a narrative-driven pro/con format-supported by relevant facts, quotes, anecdotes, and full-color illustrations-this title examines issues related to teen suicide. Topics include: Do Antidepressant Drugs Contribute to the Problem of Teen Suicide? Is the Media Contributing to the Rise in Teen Suicide? Do New Technologies Contribute to Teen Suicide? Are Suicide Prevention Programs Effective?

eBooks

Police Suicide: Proactive Leadership and Crisis Management Strategies by Thomas E. Baker (Editor)
ISBN: 9781617286506
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
Risk assessment -- Police subculture : the social climate -- Police suicide : stress factors -- Suicide by cop : crisis intervention strategies -- Leadership : crisis intervention strategies
The Oxford Handbook of Suicide and Self-Injury by Matthew K. Nock (Editor)
ISBN: 9780190209148
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Suicide is a perplexing human behavior that remains among the leading causes of death worldwide, responsible for more deaths each year than all wars, genocide, and homicide combined. Although suicide and other forms of self-injury have baffled scholars and clinicians for thousands of years, the past few decades have brought significant leaps in our understanding of these behaviors.This volume provides a comprehensive summary of the most important and exciting advances in our understanding of suicide and self-injury and our ability to predict and prevent it. Comprised of a formidable who's who in the field, the handbook covers the full spectrum of topics in suicide and self-injury across the lifespan, including the classification of different self-injurious behaviors, epidemiology, assessment techniques, and intervention.
Teen Suicide by Christine Watkins (Editor)
ISBN: 9780737762099
Publication Date: 2014-02-14
Suicide is the third-leading cause of death for young people ages 15 to 24. Chances are, your readers know someone who has committed suicide or is contemplating taking their own life. All kinds of forces surround our teens who commit suicide, including stresses from disciplinary problems, interpersonal losses, family violence, sexual orientation confusion, physical and sexual abuse, and being the victim of bullying. This book explores teen suicide and the causes. Includes primary and secondary sources from a variety of perspectives; eyewitnesses, scientific journals, government officials, and many others.
War Within by Rajeev Ramchand
ISBN: 9780833052315
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
The increase in suicides among members of the military has raised concern among policymakers, military leaders, and the population at large. While DoD and the military services have had a number of efforts under way to deal with the increase in suicides among their members, the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Health Affairs asked RAND to review the current evidence detailing suicide epidemiology in the military, identify "state-of-the-art" suicide-prevention programs, describe and catalog suicide-prevention activities in DoD and across each service, and recommend ways to ensure that the activities in DoD and across each service reflect state-of-the-art prevention science.

Statistically Speaking

Suicide is the second leading cause of death among people between the ages of 10 and 34, according to the National Institute of Mental Health.

300,000 suicide attempts a year are unplanned and spontaneous. In all, there are about 1.3 million attempted suicides annually. Only one in 25 are successful.

Local Assistance

Bexar County Resource Directory

Telehelp Directory

A non-profit organization dedicated to ending cyber-assisted bullying by educating communities about the harmful effects of cyber abuse, providing support for bullying victims, promoting kindness, and supporting legislation that prohibits the cyberbullying of minors.f you are a victim of bullying or cyberbullying, please know you did not do anything to deserve it nor is it your fault. You are not alone in your feelings, and we are here to help you through it. Ask for help.

Clarity Child Guidance Center exists to transform the lives of children and families. We are the only not-for-profit mental health treatment center specializing in children ages 3-17 in San Antonio and South Texas. Our inpatient and outpatient programs incorporate a range of services including crisis stabilization, psychiatric evaluations, and ongoing therapy.

American Foundation for Suicide Prevention

South Texas Chapter

All Clear: Resources for First Responders

To connect with fellow First Responders, get crisis support or explore your own wellness, here are a few options.

Veteran's Crisis Line

Are you a Veteran in crisis or concerned about one?

Connect with the Veterans Crisis Line to reach caring, qualified responders with the Department of Veterans Affairs. Many of them are Veterans themselves.

Copline

Dedicated to serving active and retired law enforcement officers and their loved ones by providing CONFIDENTIAL 24/7 trained retired officers for callers that are dealing with various stressors law enforcement careers encounter both on and off the job. Whether it is just a “bad day” or a crisis we are here to listen. We are able to assist with a referral to a culturally competent mental health professional.

eVidoes

DESCRIPTION: Facing Suicide combines the poignant personal stories of people impacted by suicide with profiles of scientists at the forefront of research to reveal new insights into one of America’s most pressing mental health crises. Shining a light on this difficult topic can destigmatize suicide while revealing that there is help as well as hope for those at risk and their loved ones. Distributed by PBS Distribution.

Bullying is not “just a rite of passage.” In actuality, says the National Crime Prevention Council, it’s a leading factor in suicide among kids 11 to 16 years of age. Structured around two scenarios in which a boy and a girl commit suicide after repeatedly being bullied, this video offers valuable insights into bully and victim psychology, types of bullying, and anti-bullying behavior.

On the Web

This is a 24-hour, toll-free, confidential suicide prevention hotline and chat available to anyone in the U.S. in suicidal crisis or emotional distress. By dialing 1-800-273-TALK (8255), the call is routed to the nearest crisis center in our national network of crisis centers.

Leads the fight against suicide. We fund research, create educational programs, advocate for public policy, and support those affected by suicide.

Suicide is complicated and tragic, but it is often preventable. Knowing the warning signs for suicide and how to get help can help save lives.

VA believes that everyone has a role to play in preventing suicide. That's why we are working with an extensive network of community partners across the country to prevent suicide among all Veterans including those who may never come to VA for care.

Database/Online Source Search Terms

Suicide

Suicide prevention

Suicidal Ideations

Mental Illness

Dissociation

Childhood Trauma

Physician Assisted Suicide

Corona Infections/Psychologgy

Suicide Prevention/Control

PTSD

News

Suicide rates declined again in 2020, but not for all groups, CDC report shows

Preliminary data reveals increases in the number of suicides among young adults, as well as some people of color.

Databases @ Ozuna Library/Full Tex

General OneFile

Opposing Viewpoints

MEDLINE (ProQuest)

Psychology

Self Help: Suicide