In the Library

Addiction Treatment by Jack E. Henningfield (Editor); Patricia B. Santora (Editor); Warren K. Bickel (Editor)
ISBN: 9780801886690
Publication Date: 2007-12-03
Addiction to alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs is one of the major public health issues of our time. In the United States, one in five deaths is the result of addictive drug use. This innovative book critically examines drug addiction treatment in the United States. It explores specific challenges (scientific, medical, social, and legal) to reaching the goal that treatment for drug addiction should be as accessible as treatments for diseases of the heart, liver, and lungs which often result from the use of addictive drugs. criminal offense or treated as a public health problem, and whether stigmatizing addiction is helpful or not. Throughout the book, compelling examples of addiction art explore the human side of addiction through the lens of visual artists' stunning insights into addiction and recovery. Addiction Treatment provides a solid foundation for understanding addiction as a treatable illness and for establishing a framework for effective treatment in the twenty-first century.
Alcohol by Scott Barbour (Editor)
ISBN: 9781565106741
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
Alcohol is a drug that often results in tragedies. Yet it is also a legal substance that is enjoyed harmlessly by millions of Americans. Contributors to this volume debate the harms and benefits of alcohol as well as measures to prevent underage drinking and drunk driving.
Drug Abuse Handbook by Steven B. Karch, , FFFLM (Editor)
ISBN: 9780849316906
Publication Date: 2006-12-21
[This] Second Edition is a thorough compendium of the knowledge of the pharmacological, medical, and legal aspects of drugs. The book examines criminalistics, pathology, pharmacokinetics, neurochemistry, treatment, as well as drugs and drug testing in the workplace and in sports, and the ethical, legal, and practical issues involved. Packed with the latest information in an easily accessible format, the book includes tables of all Scheduled Drugs, methods of Drug Quantitative Analysis, and a glossary of forensic toxicology terms. Vivid pictures and diagrams illustrate the pathological effects of drugs and the chemical make-up and breakdown of abused drugs...With unparalleled detail and the highest level of authoritative information, The Drug Abuse Handbook, Second Edition is the definitive resource for drug related issues.
Marijuana Debunked by Edward Gogek
ISBN: 1630512303
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Marijuana subtly damages the teenage brain, causing lifelong problems. Yet four million teens in Canada and the United States use the drug, a half million of them daily... "Dr. Gogek has a unique ability to master the complex and hotly contested material to make it understandable. His book has a strong message that our nation, including both Left and Right, needs today when most discussions of drug policy are filled with dangerous misinformation."

Database/Online Source Search Terms

Substance abuse

Drug addiction

Alcohol abuse/addiction

Drug users

Opioid use

Overdose

Alcoholics

Alcoholics Anonymous

Narcotics Anonymous

Databases @ Ozuna Library/Full Tex

Statistically Speaking

A 2013 SAMHSA study found nearly 6% residents over the age of 18 stated that they had previously used methamphetamine, which amounts to a whopping 84,000 people. It is expected these statistics will steadily increase as more meth is brought across the boarder by cartels and dealers, despite the hard work of law enforcement.

In the same 2013 SAMHSA study, roughly 3% of the population (42,000 residents) in San Antonio over the age of 18 reported using heroin at some point. Interestingly, the heroin users in the city do not fit the image that most people associate with heroin.

There is hope for San Antonio drug users, though. City officials are working diligently to prevent drug use among residents by providing as many educational services as possible through a variety of programs. In an attempt to assess drug use, organizations like the San Antonio Council on Alcohol and Drugs, CHCS’s Public Sobering Unit, and the Restoration Center and Haven for Hope take a proactive approach to the issue by offering housing, health care, substance abuse treatment, Drug Court and crisis intervention. Each of these services help to keep users out of jail, off the streets and hopefully out of the morgue.

--Health Street

Local Assistance

Free Alcohol, Drug and other Rehab resources in San Antonio, Texas. We help people take the first steps toward getting help for their drug and alcohol usage and having drug-free lifestyles. To contact an alcohol/drug abuse counselor, please Call Toll Free 1-800-780-2294.

Finding hard to locate resources for assistance with alcohol, drug and other rehab related problems is what FreeRehabCenters.com is all about. We scoured thousands of government and non profit resources to find the most affordable, free, and sliding scale resources. View our listings below.

The San Antonio Council on Alcohol and Drug Awareness (SACADA) is a nonprofit organization that provides education, youth prevention programs, information resources and services to prevent alcohol and drug use. We provide evidence based curricula instruction to students. We provide information about intervention and recovery services as well.

The Impact Of Opioids: How Is San Antonio Handling This Substance Abuse

Bexar County has the third highest rate of overdose deaths per capita in Texas behind Dallas and Harris counties and leads the state in the number of newborns suffering from drug withdrawal symptoms.

Substance Abuse Services

To find substance abuse prevention services in your area, please call, toll free, 1-877-9-NO DRUG (1-877-966-3784) or search online for a center in Bexar County.

On the Web

Texas Substance Abuse Statistics

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation.

eBooks

Alcohol Abuse by Ronald D. Lankford (Editor)
ISBN: 9780737736717
Publication Date: 2007-09-21
This book offers readers a comprehensive look at the issues surrounding alcohol abuse. Readers will analyze whether college campuses should regulate abuse, whether advertising promotes abuse, whether binge drinking is a natural impulse, and the effectiveness of twelve step programs. Diversified viewpoints such as these support critical thinking skills.
Alcoholism Sourcebook by Joyce Shannon (Editor)
ISBN: 9780780811928
Publication Date: 2010-11-01
Provides basic consumer health information about alcohol abuse, addiction, and related health effects, with facts about treatment and recovery. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Changing Lives, Changing Drug Journeys by Lisa Williams
ISBN: 9781136255281
Publication Date: 2012-10-12
This book describes how a group of young people make decisions about drug taking... The book will, therefore, be of interest to researchers and students from a variety of disciplines including qualitative research methods as well as sociology, criminology, cultural and health studies. It will also be an important resource for professionals working in health promotion, drugs education, harm reduction and treatment.
Drug Abuse by Arthur Gillard (Editor)
ISBN: 9780737767797
Publication Date: 2013-06-28
This volume presents readings from a variety of perspectives that allow readers to better understand and navigate the topic of drug abuse. Both conservative and liberal points of view are provided in an even balance. Readers will evaluate drug abuse causes, the impact of the war on drugs, the effectiveness of rehabilitation programs, and whether drugs should be legalized.
Drug Abuse Sourcebook by Laura Larsen (Editor)
ISBN: 9780780813083
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Provides basic consumer health information about the abuse of illegal drugs and misuse of prescription and over-the-counter medications, along with facts about prevention, treatment, and recovery. Includes index, glossary of related terms and directory of resources.

eVideos

Youth and Drugs of Abuse

In this compelling video, doctors and clinicians, as well as young people in recovery conduct a candid discussion about the symptoms and consequences of drug abuse, the neurobiology of addiction, substance abuse treatment, and life in recovery.