In the Library

No Longer Homeless by David Wagner; Gemma Atticks (As told to)
ISBN: 9781538110072
Publication Date: 2018-02-19
Research suggests that between 6 and 14 percent of the US population has been homeless at some point in their lives--a huge number of people. No Longer Homeless shares the stories of people who have formerly been homeless to examine how they transition off the streets, find housing, and stay housed. No Longer Homeless offers a unique perspective of people who have managed to change their lives, the resources they needed, and the factors that contributed to lasting change. The book profiles men and women of different races and ages across the country, and it shares stories of people who have been off the streets from two months to twenty years. It addresses topics such as addiction, mental health, income--from formal employment and off-the-books work, and community resources. No Longer Homeless is a powerful look at a group of people we rarely hear about--those who have formerly been on the streets--sharing the details of their lives to help individuals, organizations, and communities learn to better support the ongoing challenges of homelessness.
American Homelessness by Mary Ellen Hombs
ISBN: 9781576072479
Publication Date: 2001-07-23
With 50 percent new material, this third edition breaks this complex topic into key elements, examining the roots of the problem, programs that address it, current research, and public perceptions of homelessness. American Homelessness covers who the homeless are and why they are in such a situation; important events that have contributed to the problem; and a who's who of homelessness activism. It also includes a chronology; facts and statistics; key documents and reports; a discussion of the International Bill of Rights; a directory of organizations, associations, and government agencies; and an annotated bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Homelessness by David Levinson (Editor)
ISBN: 0761927514
Publication Date: 2004-06-21
The Encyclopedia of Homelessness is the first systematic effort to organize and summarize what we know about this complex topic which impacts not only the homeless but all of society. The Encyclopedia focuses on the current situation in the United States, with a comparative sampling of homelessness around the world. .
Homelessness by Neil Larry Shumsky
ISBN: 9780313377006
Publication Date: 2012-01-16
This book presents an unflinching investigation of homelessness in the United States--a problem that has been with us since the arrival of the first English settlers nearly 400 years ago. The terms historically used to describe them include "bums," "hoboes," "migrants," "street people," "transients," "tramps," and "vagrants." Just as varied as the words we have used to describe them are the reasons many people have found themselves living in the land of opportunity without permanent residence. The book considers homelessness and its distinctive character in three periods of American history. It clarifies the multiple meanings of the word "homeless" today and demonstrates that homelessness is a symptom of more than one problem, leading to confusion about the issue of homelessness and hampering attempts to reduce its occurrence.

eBooks

Homelessness by Tamara Thompson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780737759396
Publication Date: 2012-03-20
Through a balanced collection of articles from a variety of sources, this book explores the seriousness of America's homeless problem, and factors that contribute to homelessness, such as the recession, mental illness, substance abuse, and domestic violence. Readers will evaluate housing policies, like vouchers and Housing First programs, that may benefit the homeless, and the government's role in addressing homelessness.
Poverty and Homelessness by Noël Merino (Editor)
ISBN: 9780737768862
Publication Date: 2014-03-22
The National Alliance to End Homelessness states that there are 564,708 people experiencing homelessness on any given night in the U.S. The primary source writings in this anthology have been selected to provide your readers with a broad range of viewpoints on poverty and homelessness, including what role minimum wage plays.
The Value of Homelessness by Craig Willse
ISBN: 9781452945293
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
It is all too easy to assume that social service programs respond to homelessness, seeking to prevent and understand it. The Value of Homelessness, however, argues that homelessness today is an effect of social services and sciences, which shape not only what counts as such but what will? or ultimately won't? be done about it. The Value of Homelessness offers new ways for students and scholars of social work, urban inequality, racial capitalism, and political theory to comprehend the central role of homelessness in governance and economy today.

Statistically Speaking

Local Assistance

The purpose of SARAH is to provide support and leadership in the development and coordination of community strategies to prevent and end homelessness.

SAMMinistries is an interfaith ministry whose mission is to help the homeless and those at risk of becoming homeless attain self-sufficiency by offering, with dignity and compassion, shelter, housing, and services. SAMMinistries also provides volunteers opportunities to be renewed and fulfilled as they serve.

This website was created to help the homeless find shelter. There are many homeless shelters out there and no way for people to find them online. This is a resource to help the needy in San Antonio.

Databases @ Ozuna Library/Full Text

Academic OneFile

Health and Medicine

Academic Search Complete

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Database/Online Source Search Terms

Homelessness Homeless Person

Mental Health Unhoused Person

Housing Public Health

Veterans Public Housing

Poverty Social Services & Welfare

Drug Abuse/Addiction

eVideos

LOST ANGELS: SKID ROW IS MY HOME takes an uncompromising yet life-affirming look at the lives of eight remarkable individuals -- people who have found a way to make a life for themselves within the community of homelessness.

100,000 Homes

Giving apartments to the chronically homeless can save taxpayer dollars, advocates say. Anderson Cooper reports on the 100,000 Homes Campaign, an innovative approach to fighting homelessness.

Shelter

Sharing the struggles of those they seek to pull out of a life lived on the streets, Shelter tells a story of vets saving vets, delving into the psychological trauma created by military service, the effects that remain long after active duty, and the difficult road back to a normal life for these women and men.

On the Web

The National Alliance to End Homelessness is a leading voice on the issue of homelessness. The Alliance uses research and data to find solutions to homelessness; we work with federal and local partners to create a solid base of policy and resources that support those solutions; and then we help communities implement them.

The National Coalition for the Homeless has been working for 30 years to organize a grassroots movement that understands the root causes of homelessness and works towards equal access to housing and health care, economic stability, and the preservation of civil and voting rights of those experiencing poverty and homelessness.

Information for people who are homeless or at risk of becoming homeless in Texas.

Self Help: Homelessness